WEB how long does it take to get a nameserver change completed?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by White Stormy, Apr 21, 2008.

  1. White Stormy

    White Stormy Take that, subspace!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    85,489
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Sparkopolis
    the WHOIS info went in after less than a minute.. but nameserver change has already taken several hours :wtc:
     
  2. Browning

    Browning Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    89,463
    Likes Received:
    10
    depends. Sometimes it's a few minutes, sometimes it's 24 hours
     
  3. thomor25

    thomor25 I make money online....

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2000
    Messages:
    11,101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    and thats why you use the registrars name servers and just point to the ip, makes for a quicker change.
     
  4. Jesse

    Jesse PSN: iamajesse; XBL: Inhale My Rod; G8 GT crew; Ne OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    25,649
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California :: (925)
    came here to say this.
     
  5. White Stormy

    White Stormy Take that, subspace!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    85,489
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Sparkopolis
    how do you do that? :dunno:
     
  6. Lava Joe

    Lava Joe Guest

    It could be cached somewhere also....Open a command prompt and type 'ipconfig /flushdns' and then give it a try.
     
  7. White Stormy

    White Stormy Take that, subspace!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    85,489
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Sparkopolis
    I drew a big arrow on my monitor from the domain to the IP, but it didn't work.

    could you be any more specific?
     
  8. White Stormy

    White Stormy Take that, subspace!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    85,489
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Sparkopolis
    gah aplus.net wants a copy of my drivers license before they will enable ssh

    I wonder if there's a command prompt available on the site..
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2008
  9. drpepper

    drpepper Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    38,076
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Antonio
    start > run > cmd

    lol your local command prompt, not the remote server.
     
  10. White Stormy

    White Stormy Take that, subspace!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    85,489
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Sparkopolis
    :rofl: oh.

    apparently they changed and the site works, but the whois info still shows the OLD nameservers
     
  11. thomor25

    thomor25 I make money online....

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2000
    Messages:
    11,101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
  12. White Stormy

    White Stormy Take that, subspace!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    85,489
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Sparkopolis
    :h5: that has it right.

    bookmarked!~
     
  13. Logik

    Logik Livin la vida broka

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2000
    Messages:
    20,667
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    The Steel City
    dns propagation time might "feel" faster but all the root dns servers need to get spammed with the new records either way. :dunno:
     
  14. Jesse

    Jesse PSN: iamajesse; XBL: Inhale My Rod; G8 GT crew; Ne OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    25,649
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California :: (925)
    It helps if you're just trying to see it working on your end. As long as you don't spamvertise it heavily before it is fully propogated, you won't have any issues.
     
  15. Logik

    Logik Livin la vida broka

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2000
    Messages:
    20,667
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    The Steel City
    I wasn't referring to spam in the typical sense. Any time you change a DNS record, (e.g., NS, MX, A, etc) that change is assigned a unique number (behind the scenes, unless you're familiar with BIND) and sent (i used the term "spammed," which is more accurate) to all the core "Root" DNS servers around the world... I believe there are about a dozen of them. These Root DNS servers then send the updated records to your personal DNS server (e.g., your ISP, OpenDNS, etc).. This all takes time no matter who your nameserver from the Registrar is.

    If you want to see it live on your end just put the webserver's IP on the address bar of your browser (sometimes with a port identification :)80) at the end)
     
  16. Jesse

    Jesse PSN: iamajesse; XBL: Inhale My Rod; G8 GT crew; Ne OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    25,649
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California :: (925)
    I wasn't referring to your usage of the word. Was moreso reiterating the "feel faster" section of your post.
     

Share This Page