GUN how hard is it too start a indoor gun range?

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by el capitan, Feb 26, 2008.

1. el capitan

el capitan New Member

my local indoor range is a shit hole, and i'm sure i'm not alone here, but take the god damn wood paneling down!!!! i've only been to 4 different ranges since i started shooting, and they are all the same.

poor lighting, dirty as hell, holes everywhere, cold, the target holders suck, and EVERYTHING IS OVERPRICED!!!! :fawk:

don't get me wrong, i know that epa regulations and insurance have to be astronomical, but fuck they all look like they were built and then had zero up keep. mine even has a line at 20 or so feet fucking spray painted on the floor. buy a stencil, and some proper paint for fucks sake

so how much do you think you could start a range for, no gun store at first. just a indoor range.
    :dunno:

2. AB13

AB13 New Member

It's more a case of, how much liability insurance can you afford? It's not just the facilities itself that's fiscally draining.

3. johnson

johnson New Member

couple hundred grand

4. P07r0457

P07r0457 New Member

I have not ran the numbers on this, but honestly if you are seriously considering this, then you WANT a store with it.

The store is gonna get people in, plus you'll make a buttload off all the "impulse" purchases. Also easier to handle rentals.

Except in public-ran or club-ran ranges, I think a store is a huge money maker, and it'd be a mistake to not go that route.

5. thedude11

thedude11 New Member

I always heard that you can make a small fortune by owning a gun store and starting with a large fortune... Doesn't seem like it'd be a guaranteed success by any means. :dunno:

6. hsmith

hsmith OT Supporter

If you went to Ohio State, you'd know.

Son.

7. el capitan

el capitan New Member

see i went to columbus state community college, and still haven't finished :hsd:

thats where i went wrong :sadwavey:

8. P07r0457

P07r0457 New Member