How hard is it to add an Airport card to a PowerMac G5?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Skoles, May 4, 2006.

  1. Skoles

    Skoles Guest

    I know there are USB options, but I'd prefer the internal option first.
     
  2. dirteemac

    dirteemac hey, how are you?

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    7,776
    Likes Received:
    1
    I see a slot for an airport card in my g4, looks like you just slide it in there, I'm thinking it's similar with a g5.
     
  3. Snotfist

    Snotfist I am the Urban Cowboy.

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MinnesOTa
    Very simple. There is a slot when you pop the side off with a wire to be pushed into the card (much like a Powerbook or iBook or iMac). It is very user friendly.
     
  4. Skoles

    Skoles Guest

    Yeah, that's what I'm hoping. I was reading around and it says if your comp didn't come "airport enabled" then you'd need to have it professionally installed, which I assume is BS.

    Computer's on now and busy, so I haven't had a chance to open it up & see if it has what I need.
     
  5. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,736
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    my buddies g4 had a slot for that. looked pretty easy to install.

    would airport cost less than a usb wifi dongle?
     
  6. Skoles

    Skoles Guest

    Probably not. Plus the Airport Extreme card has a bluetooth attachment too, so it's 2 birds w/one stone.

    I'd rather not waste another usb port.
     
  7. trevor

    trevor There's always a brand new day

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just don't forget that white 't' looking antenna. . . I did at first and couldn't figure out why reception sucked

     
  8. Skoles

    Skoles Guest

    Old bump, but I finally remembered to check today and snapped a pic.

    From what it looks like, I have the Airport Extreme card slot and the wiring for the antenna & BT antenna as well. Both tucked at the front of the case (compared to online photos showing it near the CPU fan).

    My Linksys router is crapping out ports so I guess I'll just go wireless. Anything to look out for when buying the cards/basestation off eBay?

    [​IMG]
     
  9. biawokauns

    biawokauns New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2001
    Messages:
    19,893
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Republic of Kalifornia
    the only tricky part is pulling the antenna out, sometimes its hidden

    i just sold my dual 2.7, and pulled the airport ard. if you want to buy it, lmk
     
  10. Skoles

    Skoles Guest

    Is it one of the BT combos? PM me w/a price.
     
  11. biawokauns

    biawokauns New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2001
    Messages:
    19,893
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Republic of Kalifornia
    no, not BT combo.

    $60 shipped
     

Share This Page