How Do you shop for ram?(dual channel)

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by igotyofire, Jan 23, 2005.

  1. igotyofire

    igotyofire New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    4,022
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have one ddr 400 512 stick and a 256 stick also runnin my machine.....but i wanna run in dual channel(yes my motherboard supports it). I need special memory right. Just wondering more about the Cas Latency and what it means
     
  2. adam17

    adam17 now im gonna sing the doom song! doom doom doom do

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    n ur gf's bed
    u dont need special memory. u do need the same sizes. it is recommended that u buy matched sets that way theyre latencies r close and are virtually identical.

    as for cas latency go for the lowest numbers. i would recommend these http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=20-145-523&depa=1. its actually what im running in my comp right now. its the lowest ive seen for pc3200 2-2-2-5. if theyre too much u could try some 2-3-3-5, its only going to be a *slight* difference in speed
     
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    the sticks recommended by adam17 are good. I'd recommend em.

    But I have seen 1.5cas sticks, just not recently. I wonder what happened?
     
  4. igotyofire

    igotyofire New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    4,022
    Likes Received:
    0
    can i run 3 ram sticks and still be in dual channel ? just the 512 i have now will be running at a different CAS latencey? would it be best to just leave it out or run it....im not sure what its running at, its generic ram and its probably much cheaper then the brand name stuff but it works . And if i can run 3 sticks, can i run my 256 stick on the side and still recieve the benefits from dual channel?
     
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    never mix cas latencies. Some chipsets support 3-sticks for DC operation, but it runs ASync, which is not recommended.

    You're much better off getting matching pairs.
     
  6. igotyofire

    igotyofire New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    4,022
    Likes Received:
    0
    what happens when you mix them...im pretty sure im mixing them now as im using 1 corsair stick , and one generic, both are ddr400...just im sure theyre different cas latency's so what kinda effects come into play?
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    they run at the slowest stick's speed.

    it amazes me that people are SO cheap that they insist on getting "performance" ram and mix it with their generic crap.

    Buy the XMS. Run it in pairs. Throw away what you have in there.
     
  8. igotyofire

    igotyofire New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    4,022
    Likes Received:
    0
    so 1gb of faster speed > 1.768gb of slower speed ram.....i just wonder if i really will notice a difference.. sorry not trying to beat this topic to death just trying to learn
     
  9. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    usually, yes.
     

Share This Page