How do you set up Vista on a secondary drive?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Playboy, Nov 4, 2006.

  1. Playboy

    Playboy Part time arrogant bastard

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2000
    Messages:
    35,751
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Or in this case, a 4th?

    I've been wanting to test it out for some time now. And while the 4th drive already has 2000 installed, I want to be able to wipe that out and replace it with Vista.

    Thing is, I can choose that on the menu with the active drive, but Vista itself needs to reboot. When it does that, however, everything goes back to normal as if I've never installed it.

    I've even gone into the BIOS and set the designated drive as my default, and still nothing. HELP.
     
  2. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Well if you're changing bios settings and it's still doing that,
    then just unplug the drive cable off of the drive that
    it keeps wanting to boot to.

    If you're not sure which drive that is inside the cage, then unplug the
    drive cable off of the other three.

    It won't take you but a few minutes of your time, and it's a hassle free approach.
     
  3. Playboy

    Playboy Part time arrogant bastard

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2000
    Messages:
    35,751
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    ah ok, will do, thanks man :)
     
  4. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    [​IMG]
     
  5. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    How about using VMWAre or a similar program?
     
  6. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    I used partition magic, wiped out my 3rd drive and made 1 primary partition, then installed vista on it. Worked out perfect for me, setup added xp to the boot menu and all is well.
     

Share This Page