How do you guys organize your spaces?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Legend Zero, Feb 19, 2008.

  1. Legend Zero

    Legend Zero OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    35,867
    Likes Received:
    0
    i am trying to set it up, but am not sure how i should organize it?
     
  2. IS300_TRD

    IS300_TRD Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Messages:
    119,442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Frisco, TX
    same here.
     
  3. Euclid

    Euclid New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    8,139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Mail - Space 1
    Office - Space 2
    Remote Desktop - Space 2
    Graphics apps - Space 3
    Web - Space 4
    IM - All Spaces

    My complaint about Spaces is that the window ordering gets messed up when you change spaces. For example I will have a spreadsheet in 3 and a web browser in 2, and I swap back and forth, but when I swap my IM contact list pops on top and gets in the way.
     
  4. Pseudonym

    Pseudonym --

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    so far, i don't have it set up a whole lot cuz i haven't been doing a lot other than surfing in the last little while.

    I have a 2X2 with space 1 where i do everything, 2 is my fullscreen VMWare, 3 is Full screen remote desktop into my server, 4 is unused.
     
  5. Boosh Dag

    Boosh Dag Guest

    Space 1 - Web and what ever im working on
    Space 2 - Transmission and Torrent folder
    Space 3 - iTunes
    Space 4 - iCal

    :dunno: works for me
     
  6. Pseudonym

    Pseudonym --

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    this thread inspired me to make use of spaces more. will report back with findings.
     
  7. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are Spaces the same as multiple desktops in *nix?
     
  8. iridium130

    iridium130 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    6,034
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim Hills, CA --> Denver, CO
    Space 1 - Adium, Safari, whatever I'm working on
    Space 2 - iCal, Address Book, Mail
    SPace 3 - iTunes, Cyberduck
    Space 4 - Lightroom (if open) or Photoshop if I'm working on a bigger project
     
  9. verbal

    verbal Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    22,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    I turned on Spaces but I've never really played with it.

    So once you put an app window in a specific space, it stays there when launched in the future?
     
  10. fr0ng

    fr0ng don't mind me, just passing through

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,293
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    1 - school notes/browsing/IM
    2 - email
    3 - vmware
    4 -
    5 -
    6 -
     
  11. Euclid

    Euclid New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    8,139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Yes, only buggier :hs:

    The same virtual desktop functionality has been available via third party apps for a few years now.
     
  12. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    30" ACD > spaces :o
     
  13. f-a-s

    f-a-s New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NW Vegas
    Thank you for the good ol OT negative post ! Each thread needs one!
     
  14. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    On my laptop, I just had limewire in 2 while I did everything else in 1. I haven't quite found the need for Spaces yet as i'd rather switch between programs/windows using expose.
     
  15. hurleyint1386

    hurleyint1386 Someone has sand in their vagina

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    1 - Internet
    2 - Mail
    3 - Development
    4 - Misc (Adium, Word, etc)
     
  16. SuperCzar

    SuperCzar Mac Crew, DSLR Crew

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SLO, CA, USA
    I go back and forth from loving and loathing spaces.

    With Expose, there seems little need for it to me.
     
  17. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    using VMWare or Parallels full screen seems like the best use for Spaces that i see. otherwise, i preferred to just rely on Expose or multiple monitors (obviously this doesn't work for all setups).
     

Share This Page