How do you enables the Remote Terminal functionality in Windows 2003?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by GK, Feb 7, 2005.

  1. GK

    GK Tag Body Spray for Sick Cats

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    I've tried all the guides, walkthrough's, etc without any luck. With Windows 2003 it's not as simple as clicking the Remote tab and checking the Remote Desktop tab. From what I understand you have to setup stuff in Group Policies and whatnot.

    I'm not that familar with WIN2K3 since it's pretty new to me, so any help would greatly be appreciated. :)
     
  2. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,454
    Likes Received:
    278
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    I'm not sure what you're asking. Remote desktop is enabled by checking the box you found. But only admins can log on. If you want to run an actual Terminal Server so users can logon and run applications, you have to buy terminal server licenses.
     
  3. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    If W2K3 is anything like W2K though, it's not Remote Desktop, it's Terminal Services. The difference being that you are starting a brand new session in Terminal Services, not taking over a current active session.
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    win2k3 has Remote Desktop AND Terminal Services... They are different.
     

Share This Page