GUN how do I v. replace trigger

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by screl1, Jun 5, 2008.

  1. screl1

    screl1 Chicken Burger FTMFW!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    10,304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Parkville, MO
    I have a AK-47, the trigger on it sucks and its killing (get it hardy har har) my accuracy.

    is a single action or double action better?
    where would I buy it from?
    do you need any special tools to put one in?
    how much does it cost?
    how do I go about pulling out the one thats in there?
    how do I actually put a new one in?
     
  2. PanzerAce

    PanzerAce Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    14,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    N37°18'37" W120°29'50"
    Um, SA/DA wat?

    have you ever cleaned or oiled the trigger group in your rifle?
     
  3. Keesh

    Keesh New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    15,333
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tapco G2 triggers are good ($30) . Red Star Arms has an adjustable one but it's quite a bit more expensive ($90).

    Chances are you'll need a single hook one. Single hooks will work in every AK receiver and a double hook really doesn't make that much of a difference.

    No special tools needed. A pair of pliers is nice though. Search Google for a guide, there are a few good ones out there.
     
  4. Keesh

    Keesh New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    15,333
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good call Panzer on cleaning the one he has now. Buy a can of brake cleaner and give the inside of your receiver a good cleaning. Then oil it up.
     
  5. lobstradomus

    lobstradomus New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    You might want to look around for some videos on the AK trigger job, with a bit of file work and stoning its pretty easy to make a decent trigger.
     
  6. xpinchx

    xpinchx hes got a nice cock, on the thin side but its stil

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    46,800
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    East Lansing, MI
    Depending what kind of AK it is it might be worth it to upgrade to a G2 FCG. I have a romanian (WASR) and when I switched the factory FCG out for the G2 it took care of the trigger slap and the pull is a lot smoother. Like most military rifles there's a lot of pre and over travel, but it doesn't really bother me or affect my accuracy.
     
  7. demusn79

    demusn79 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AR
    If it's cut for it go double if not single.
    Mine are both cut for the double so...
    [​IMG]
    And I like them very much.
     
  8. phrozenlikwid

    phrozenlikwid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NKY
    The RSA trigger is absolutely bad ass. It was better than some boltguns I've used.
     

Share This Page