How do I uninstall in OSX?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by nikocb, Oct 26, 2004.

  1. nikocb

    nikocb New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Reading PA
    i'm realtivly new to macs and i cant figure out how to uninstall an application. what do i do?
     
  2. samm

    samm Next in Line

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2000
    Messages:
    2,630
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Drag the program to the trash
     
  3. nikocb

    nikocb New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Reading PA
    is that all i have to do? I wanted to uninstall quicktime so that i could install and older version. i draged quicktime to the trash and emptied it but it still wont let me instaall the old quicktime because it says the newer version is still installed
     
  4. Substance

    Substance New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    You will also have to delete the preferences for quicktime.

    Do a "Find" for quicktime and delete whatever you find. Then install the older version.
     
  5. nikocb

    nikocb New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Reading PA
    ok, i did all that...but it still says theres a newer version of quicktime installed...wtf?
     
  6. jabbadeznuts

    jabbadeznuts ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PDX
    Why do you want an older version? The new version can do all of the stuff the old one can and more.
     
  7. nikocb

    nikocb New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Reading PA
    because the older version that i am trying to install is Quicktime Pro where as the newer version is just the basic QT
     
  8. FidizzyTypeS

    FidizzyTypeS Gimme Dem Scones!! OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Queens, NY
    its not going to work....quick time is an integral part of the os.
     
  9. samm

    samm Next in Line

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2000
    Messages:
    2,630
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Quicktime is not an application, you can't just drag it to the trash like I suggested up above.

    If you have a key for Quicktime Pro, enter it in the Quicktime system preference. If you are trying to install a pirated version of Quicktime Pro, spend the $29 for a legit key.
     
  10. nikocb

    nikocb New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Reading PA
    damn i guess im screwed then....since i cant use quicktime basic anymore since I delted it.....and i was trying to install a pirated version of pro....sadly i dont have the $30 to spare right now for a legit copy :(
     
  11. samm

    samm Next in Line

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2000
    Messages:
    2,630
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    What do you need the Pro version for?
     
  12. nikocb

    nikocb New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Reading PA
    i have a bunch of video i captured from my camera....but each file is more than 2 gigs and iMovie wont handle it so I need quicktime pro to split the movie files into smaller sizes
     
  13. dmora

    dmora Guest

    here's nothing pirated about any version of quicktime. Its an on/off switch used by the serial number.

    You just pwnd yourself. :mamoru:
     
  14. nikocb

    nikocb New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Reading PA
    i guess?....i got through part of the install and the whole time it said 'Quicktime Pro' at the top...so??
     

Share This Page