WEB how do i make a site where i can update all the pages at the same time?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Ebtek, Sep 4, 2007.

  1. Ebtek

    Ebtek Afraid of 138

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2000
    Messages:
    152,905
    Likes Received:
    1,081
    i have html skill, and am a quick,logical learner. i have no db, asp, php, etc skills

    i am designing a site with about 20 pages (menu bar along the left, etc).
    the only way i can think of is to create the home page, then make 19 copies of it, and edit the middle content (so everything else on the page is exactly the same.
    if i want to add the 21st page, im fucked. i have to edit all the pages to add that link to the menu bar....you get the idea.

    what is the most efficient way to manage my site? people say css?

    speak slowly when explaining.... :)
     
  2. sparq

    sparq New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    13,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Syracuse
    PHP, and use a header file

    Then you update the header file, or navigation file, or footer file, etc. and it changes on all of them - presto!
     
  3. thomor25

    thomor25 I make money online....

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2000
    Messages:
    11,101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    yep, php and use includes.
     
  4. drpepper

    drpepper Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    38,076
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Antonio
    php includes are the way to go to update your content on a static site.
     
  5. Ebtek

    Ebtek Afraid of 138

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2000
    Messages:
    152,905
    Likes Received:
    1,081
    :bowdown:

    ill try it
    p.s. i still use tables :o
     
  6. jjones

    jjones New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Chances are, you can also use server side includes, but from the sounds of it, now might be the time to start getting involved in a server side language like php.
     
  7. hurleyint1386

    hurleyint1386 Someone has sand in their vagina

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    use frames..... haha just kidding

    php includes
     
  8. kristin

    kristin my dog > *

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    4,483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    That and use CSS for the design part of it.
     
  9. grimstone

    grimstone magic murda bag OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    4,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    atx
    masterpages .net2.0
     
  10. sparq

    sparq New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    13,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Syracuse
    You can turn any HTML page into a PHP page, with 0 changes...
     
  11. drpepper

    drpepper Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    38,076
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Antonio
    :ugh:
     
  12. c.a

    c.a New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    jea, external style sheets ftw
     
  13. kuno

    kuno .... OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    5,235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wichita, KS
    If you have no PHP skills.. just use SSI. Ask your host if they allow for Server Side Includes.
     
  14. retorq

    retorq What up bitch??

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mohave Desert
    Another vote for SSI/SHTML pages. Really simple and don't require you to learn PHP ...
     
  15. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,923
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Use SSI, if not, then PHP.
     
  16. sparq

    sparq New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    13,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Syracuse
    You dont need to learn PHP in order to make PHP pages

    You can take your standard regular old HTML page, rename it, and just do a simple includes... which is no different then understanding how to work an SSI line of code for SHTML

    You have your website, now just recognize which parts of it you want to be able to keep the same, and also edit them at the same time. Then create a header file, or a links file, or whatever part of the same is the part you want to edit.

    Cut it all out from the "template" -- now paste it into a new file, save file... then do an includes (mentioned in an above post) -- put both files online, presto. Really not hard at all... honest. Google the subject, theres 1,000's of pages to guide you in this.
     
  17. Suazo

    Suazo New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    3,057
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    nice...I was also wondering about this
     
  18. Ebtek

    Ebtek Afraid of 138

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2000
    Messages:
    152,905
    Likes Received:
    1,081
    trying it....

    but im editing on a winxp box w/only dreamweaver installed.

    i may need to install iis or apache?
     
  19. Ebtek

    Ebtek Afraid of 138

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2000
    Messages:
    152,905
    Likes Received:
    1,081
    dammit!

    now my web host (netfirms' shitty free service) doesnt support php
     
  20. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,923
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Use SSI.
     
  21. BreezyMe

    BreezyMe New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    I agree with all of the above options...

    But if you have Dreamweaver - I've found that creating an HTML "Template" for the simple sites is also an easy option.
     
  22. DigiCrime

    DigiCrime If Only!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    32,996
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    St. Louis
    was wondering why no one had suggested this yet, SSI is what I use for all my updated hell with content management to many exploitation these days
     
  23. retorq

    retorq What up bitch??

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mohave Desert
    See posts 14, 15, 16 and 21 ...
     
  24. Ebtek

    Ebtek Afraid of 138

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2000
    Messages:
    152,905
    Likes Received:
    1,081
    ugh. i must have been looking at my cached page when i was cutting and pasting from html and creating the php includes.

    now my php page is blank. it just shows my counter...

    i have an index.php which is the home page.
    navbar.php - for the menu
    content.php - for the main content

    im not sure what other info i can give so someone can help...
     

Share This Page