How do I keep users from changing the system clock time?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by hootpie, Jun 27, 2005.

  1. hootpie

    hootpie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    35,257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    Preferably without needing to change user privileges.

    TIA
     
  2. XR250rdr

    XR250rdr OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    24,479
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Ca
  3. Lateralus

    Lateralus New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    5,953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Midwest
    Why are people changing the time?
     
  4. stoliohranj

    stoliohranj beautiful fucking tits man

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    10,097
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    blitzburgh
    thats irrelevant. but i'm curious also.
     
  5. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    At my company, all of the machines get the time from the server. The time on the machines can be changed, but the server will change it back.

    We use this in our login script

    net time \\server_name /set /y
     
  6. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,501
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    By default, only admins and power users are supposed to be able to change the system time. Are these XP Pro machines? On a domain? Are the people changing the time admins on the local machine or just users?
     
  7. hootpie

    hootpie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    35,257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    These systems are on Windows XP and changing the way users log in is not feasible (long story, trust me on this). I need to be able to disable changing the time even for the administrators.
     
  8. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,501
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    Since you didn't say, I'll just guess that they're not on a domain. You can go to local security policy, local policies, user rights assignment, and find the "change system time" policy. Remove everyone from the list.
     
  9. RotorBalls

    RotorBalls Gonz

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2000
    Messages:
    47,447
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    RBWH
    yeah that's what I was going to suggest or if trying to set the time remotely
    net time \\machine /domain:insertdomainhere /set /y

    but the guy above me already said how to do it
     
  10. col_panic

    col_panic calm like a bomb Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    188,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winter haven, fl
    we do it with the netware client. in the advanced settings is an option "set station time" and when enabled the workstation gets its time from the server. restricted user accounts cannot alter the client properties.
     

Share This Page