How do I do installation partitions on Vista ???

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by alex, Jun 30, 2008.

  1. alex

    alex My neighbor got the gas chamber awhile back for do Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    24,383
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Orange County, NY
    Building a new computer from scratch with one HDD. Installing legit copy of Vista Business 32bit. I know that the OS should always be on its own partition, but how do I do this?

    How should I set up the HDD? Should I run the software that comes with the HDD? Should I create a partition to install Vista to and then use Vista's shrink partition to get it down to size?

    Never done this before. :wiggle:
     
  2. Limp_Brisket

    Limp_Brisket New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    48,422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    run the vista install and let it partition the hdd?
     
  3. alex

    alex My neighbor got the gas chamber awhile back for do Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    24,383
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Orange County, NY
    will it do itself automagically? so I shouldn't run the CD that comes with the HDD first?
     
  4. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    are you wanting to dual boot vista with something else?
     
  5. alex

    alex My neighbor got the gas chamber awhile back for do Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    24,383
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Orange County, NY
    nope. just vista.
     
  6. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    then unless you for some reason you want to use less space than the hard drive has just use the default settings in the setup
     
  7. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    do you have some kind of RAID setup?
     

Share This Page