how do i change directories when the comp is loading.. from c:\ to a:\ ??

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by That Playa TL, Nov 27, 2003.

  1. i'm on windows 98 and a computer cleaning program deleted my win.com, rundll32, himem.sys, dblbuff.sys, ifshlp.sys files..

    the main error is Cannot find WIN.COM, unable to cotinue loading Windows

    i read that i could copy a win.com file from another computer with the same operating version..win98. so i did that..copied it to floppy diskette. now im trying to open it while windows is starting up.. im wasnt in ms-dos or safe mode or anything , i dont know how to do that. i get the C:\> thing ... so i typed a:\win.com after the c:\> and it said it couldnt read the file. u think i need to get change directories..how do i go from c:\> to a:\> ??? so i can type in a:\win.com
     
  2. Ichabod Crane

    Ichabod Crane Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    29,556
    Likes Received:
    1
    just type
    a:

    then hit enter
     
  3. also can i copy the rundll32, himem.sys, dblbuff.sys, ifshlp.sys files from another computer and move em to my own windows directory if i get back into my computer?
     
  4. thanx i'll try
     
  5. myz

    myz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    on mine it tells me to press DEL.... then enter your bios panel thing (whatever its called) and change the 1st recognized drive to A:/
     
  6. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think all of those files are generic so you should be able to just copy them
     
  7. WeRdToYoMoThA

    WeRdToYoMoThA Girlies on Standby, Waiting to say Hi

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    27,033
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boston Mass
  8. typing a: doesnt work

    says
    General failure reading drive A. Abort, Retry, Fail?
    and
    General drive is no longer available

    i aint gonna restore that biatch, got too much stuff on it like my song lyrics.

    im fixing to try to make a boot disc off my moms computer. if i can remember how. anyone wanna help? i goto My Computer then something right?
     
  9. stonedworm

    stonedworm mofo in a supra

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2001
    Messages:
    28,045
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kelowna, BC
    deltree C:
     
  10. what do i goto to make boot disc thing..i got the floppy disk ready
     
  11. thanx i think
    i dunno to try that or not, cuz this board always jokes around. with my luck, that'll delete my whole c drive or something. im trustung you :hs:
     
  12. stonedworm

    stonedworm mofo in a supra

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2001
    Messages:
    28,045
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kelowna, BC

    :rofl: Thatll delete your entire HD:o I think you need to add /s afterwards to make it work tho:o
     
  13. shastaisforwinners

    shastaisforwinners OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,820
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Paramore
    you're using 5.25" floppies, right?

    Windows 98 doesn't recognize 3.5" floppies... you'll have to find an older floppy drive if you don't already have one
     
  14. on my moms computer it aint lettin me make one

    aint this right:
    my computer > properties
    then the Performance tab > file system >
    then one of those tabs..floppy disk, removable disc, troubleshooting

    those dont do anything tho

    damn
     
  15. interstate

    interstate New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Messages:
    12,873
    Likes Received:
    0
    if you have a win98 CD, boot from CD in the BIOS
     
  16. Platinum_Thunder

    Platinum_Thunder Reliability for life and liberty

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    108,808
    Likes Received:
    194
    it's /u :slap:
     
  17. unsaved

    unsaved no one of consequence

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cali
    :ugh:
     
  18. interstate

    interstate New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Messages:
    12,873
    Likes Received:
    0

    Please step away from the computer.
     
  19. shastaisforwinners

    shastaisforwinners OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,820
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Paramore
    and here I thought that no one could possibly take that post seriously....
     
  20. not sure how to do that

    i only have a recovery disc
    here's what it says
    1.emergency diskette
    2.user backup
    3.no user image found
    4.factory restore
    5.exit

    when i tried 1, it said:
    compaq recovery cd will now create a emergency diskette for you. please insert a blank, formattedfloppy diskette in the drive. plress enter .

    i pressed enter, a blank black screen shows up and i can hear it trying to read or write onto the floppy disk but i guess it fails, cuz after like 4 seconds it goes back to that previous screen telling me to press enter.

    and option 2 goes to QuickRestore which warns that it'll delete all files except factory-stored files. so i cant do that.

    how else can i boot?
     
  21. interstate

    interstate New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Messages:
    12,873
    Likes Received:
    0


    Is this a brand name computer? (ie: compaq, HP)
     
  22. interstate

    interstate New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Messages:
    12,873
    Likes Received:
    0
    :uh: (you answered my question in the post I quoted)

    Ok its a compaq.. If you're just missing those few files, the easiest thing to do is get them from another comp..

    Otherwise, you may have to use the restore CD.. :sad2:
     
  23. i think all i need is to get my computer to read the win.com file from floppy disc or cd. floppy disc doesnt seem to work.. how do i use a cd to do it when all i get is those 5 options
     
  24. interstate

    interstate New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Messages:
    12,873
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its been a while since I looked at a Compaq restore CD, but I don't think you can just get it from the CD.. Bad thing about prebuilt computers.. :sad2:

    If you can, just copy the files you need from another computer, onto a floppy disk and then copy those over to your windows directory.. Ive done it before, it works fine..
     
  25. well i guess the floppy disc will work
    i just dont how to get my computer to read it

    can u help with that KungFuJared?
    i get a c:\> on the screen.. i need to switch directories from c to a correct? then type in win.com after the a:\ or can i just type in a:\win.com after the c:\> ??
     

Share This Page