How do I achieve this RAID array?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by honey, Mar 28, 2007.

  1. honey

    honey Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    6,959
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wall Street
    I have three 500GB hard drives that I would like to RAID to a 1TB hard drive so that if one of the drives goes down, then all my data will be OK. How do I do this through software?

    I also have a 150GB 10k raptor for my OS and stuff so there are four drives in total.
     
  2. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Doing this using software in Windows XP involves hacking a DLL to enable this feature, which is only enabled in Windows Server 2003.

    Doing it with hardware is a better approach, as it will keep the calculations from clogging the CPU and it doesn't require hacking anything.
     
  3. XR250rdr

    XR250rdr OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    24,485
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Ca
    software RAID5 FTMFL

    hardware RAID5 is the only way to fly.
     
  4. honey

    honey Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    6,959
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wall Street
    what hardware do I need specifically and how much is this shit gonna cost me? You put the original idea in my head so all help will be appreciated :)
     
  5. honey

    honey Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    6,959
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wall Street
    fuck RAID cards are so expensive
     
  6. StevesVR4

    StevesVR4 Get Arrested

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    7,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hardware RAID5 cards are expensive though. The cheap RAID5 cards still use the main CPU for the XOR processing. The cards that come with an XOR engine cost significantly more.
     
  7. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    NetCell RAID cards are not that expensive. Also, depending on how new your motherboard is, it may have a built-in RAID controller, though I can't say whether the onboard ones have their own processors or leech off the CPU.

    Either way, though, if you're going to do a RAID you might as well suck it up and spend the money. How much did those 3x 500MB drives cost? Do you want to cheap out and get shitty performance from those expensive drives, or do you want to do it right?
     
  8. honey

    honey Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    6,959
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wall Street
    they cost me 80 each....fuck man, looks like i'll have to drop 4 hundo
     
  9. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    onboard RAID is uber-shitty unless you have a workstation/server board with a discrete solution.

    Get a good PCI-E card and call it a day.
     
  10. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Dude, I thought you were getting the Asus board that had it onboard?

    And as far as software raid goes, you don't need to hack anything if you're running XP Pro.
     
  11. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do you make a software RAID on XP Pro?
     
  12. honey

    honey Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    6,959
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wall Street
    I got a gigabyte board that has RAID on board
     
  13. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    You start by converting the drives to dynamic discs in computer management.
    Once that's done, to make a simple mirrored volume you would just right click on one of the discs and select new volume > next > mirrored volume > next > click the disc that
    you want to make the mirror in the all available dynamic discs box > click add > and allocate the size of this drive >
    Then work through the wizard and windows will create the drive.

    You can make RAID 0 and 5 the same way, it's just a matter of picking alternate options in the new volume wizard...
     
  14. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio

    You should probably try the Gigabyte website to see
    if they have a decent walkthrough for the RAID setup.

    That would be better than trying to do it in software.
     
  15. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,754
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    marking this for later, that will save me tons of time...i'm tired of copying and pasting from drive to drive
     
  16. XR250rdr

    XR250rdr OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    24,485
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Ca
    The RAID5 controller on ASUS boards leech off the CPU.

    To use software RAID5 under XP you do have to hack it.

    Like you said, you have to hack a DLL.
     
  17. johan

    johan Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sahasrara; magnetic violet infinite
  18. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    :werd:
     
  19. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    See now, Doc, that software RAID configuration works great in Windows Server 2000 and Windows Server 2003, but I swear I've tried it on Windows 2000 and Windows XP to no avail, at least until I hacked some DLL or another.

    I (should) have a pre-hacked DLL on one of my computers, if I can find it I can send it to anyone who wants it. Be warned, though, that Windows DOES NOT run striped and mirrored drives efficiently.

    Standalone hardware RAID is still the best option; I recommend NetCell cards as an inexpensive, non-CPU-leeching solution.
     
  20. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio

    Wrong.
     
  21. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio

    You guys had to make me go and google, didn't you...
    :squint:


    Here's Microsoft using their customary 11ty billion words to say what I did in one paragraph.


    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/308424
     
  22. XR250rdr

    XR250rdr OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    24,485
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Ca
    Simple, striped and spanned are the only available dynamic disk types availabe on an unhacked installation of Windows XP Professional.

     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2007
  23. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    ("told you so" comment deleted)
     
  24. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    You could probably copy all sorts of stuff out of context if you felt like it, but this is all you need to read:

    "Dynamic Disks and Volumes
    Dynamic disk storage supports volume-oriented disks. You create the following volume types only on dynamic disks: • New simple volumes.
    • Volumes that span multiple disks (spanned volumes and striped volumes).
    • Volumes that are fault-tolerant (mirrored volumes and RAID-5 volumes).
    Volumes on dynamic disks are called dynamic volumes. Dynamic disks can support up to 2,000 dynamic volumes per disk (although the recommended number of volumes is 32 or less per disk).

    Local access to dynamic volumes (and to the data that the dynamic volumes contain) is limited to Microsoft Windows 2000 and Microsoft Windows XP Professional-based computers. You cannot create dynamic volumes on (or access dynamic volumes from) a Windows XP Professional-based computer that has one or more of the following operating systems running: • Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
    • Microsoft Windows NT 4.0 and earlier
    • Microsoft Windows Millennium Edition
    • Microsoft Windows 98 Second Edition and earlier
    • MS-DOS
    You can create dynamic disks by using the Convert to Dynamic Disk command in Disk Management to convert a basic disk. "
     
  25. XR250rdr

    XR250rdr OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    24,485
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Ca
    That quote is hardly out of context when the title of the article is "Basic Storage Versus Dynamic Storage in Windows XP"

    Just because you can create a dynamic volume does not mean you can create a RAID1 or RAID5 set on a Windows 2000 or XP Professional machine.

    The fact remains that the only dynamic disk configurations available in Windows 2000 and XP Professional computers are simple, spanned, and striped volumes. Mirrored and RAID5 volumes are limited to Windows 2000 and 2003 Server operating systems.
     

Share This Page