SRS How did you quit smoking v. probably-been-asked-before

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by althepirate, Mar 3, 2008.

1. althepirate

althepirate Talk nerdy to me.

It's so hard...so very, very hard for me to quit smoking.

I've been smoking for about 6 years now. Highest amount per day was about half a pack. I quit for a month [Jan - Feb] then started again when I started my new job. Deluded myself for a while it was temporary and I've come to realization that yes, I'm an addict and yes, this is going to be MUCH harder than I originally thought.

I went for about two weeks with virtually no cravings, third week brought HARDCORE cravings, and week 4 I gave in after a particularly hard day at work. When I quit that month, I just went cold turkey.

My question to all the people who feel they've done it....how did you do it? How did you cope with the cravings, how ARE you coping with the cravings? What did you read, who did you talk to, what did you do instead, etc. I need inspiration and ideas....I'm staring at my pack, daydreaming about just throwing it away and not looking back....

2. althepirate

So I've officially quit for 30 hours now and I'm already feeling it. I miss my cigarettes :wtc:

I can do this. I know I can. I ended up giving my pack to another person on the floor simply because I couldn't bring myself to throw them away altogether.

Wish me luck, guys!

3. chansigril

chansigril not an og, just a g OT Supporter

shortly after i turned 30 i finally gave up the habit. i had already weaned myself down from a pack a day to 3-4 cigarettes a day to 1-2 cigarette a day over the course of mebbe a year. i still have one every great once in a while, particularly if at a bar or playing cards, but they just aren't that enjoyable anymore. i think the most crucial factor was the last person at work to smoke besides me also decided to quit, he was a hardcore smoker as well.