SRS How did you find your "calling" in life?

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by EE CUMMINGS, May 13, 2005.

1. EE CUMMINGS

EE CUMMINGS aka RobHuang

I graduate college tommorrow, and I, like many have NO idea what i want to do.

My major is in business but i have 0 interest in it, i was one of those kids who went to college just because it was the thing to do after highschool.

I've always questioned my motiviation but i feel that my motiviation was in question because i was doing things i had no interest in. I sucked at my business classes, but i did very well in the non business classes i was in (like journalism, etc). i should have taken note of this and changed my major a long time ago but i felt the "indirect pressure" of my parents to major in something that is noteworthy (like engineering, or going to med school). asian parents are like that.

my grades in college were just satisfactory, i never had a desire like some people to go to law school, or to work at xxxxx firm, etc

I just had an intial interview (phone) with a company and they were going to refer me to an inperson interview and i pretended i was very interested and told me to fill out this long form online and i just quit doing it. I had no interest in thef irst place and i felt like if i were to get this job, i would pick a career where i dont want. (financial planning was the job)

I also have an interview next week and i honestly do not want to work in that field either (real estate).

am i being too picky?

the thought of doing a job honestly makes me sad/depressed.

I understand the need to make a living to support yourself, wife kids when it comes down to it, but i truely do not want a career in business. I don't have the business profile, i dont care about competition, im in it for the ride and to enjoy all the small moments.