How can I trim down Vista?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by deusexaethera, Jun 4, 2008.

  1. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    In my neverending quest to find a laptop that I think is actually worth the money it costs, I've seen plenty of customization pages where I can add 1GB of Intel TurboCache, but only if the machine is running Vista. XP does everything I need, but the TurboCache thing sounds kinda cool, and since I could only use it with Vista, I've been wondering if/how it's possible to trim down an installation of Vista so it functionally resembles XP? I know there are a lot of rewritten components, that's fine, but I don't really need Aero Glass or desktop widgets or any of that crap.

    Can something like this be done? I'd rather not spend the money just to find out it's impossible to shut off all the goodies Vista comes with.
     
  2. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    install xp
     
  3. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    I was just glancing at my wife's laptop last night (which runs Vista Home Premium) and was shocked at how much a barebones Vista install eats into hard drive space. Ridiculous.
     
  4. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe you missed the part where TurboCache/ReadyBoost doesn't work with XP.
     
  5. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
  6. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    What a pain in the ass.
     
  7. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    if xp has nlite, vista has vlite
     
  8. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah yes. But fuck it, if there's no meaningful benefit to TurboCache, cool though it may be in concept, then I'll be damned if I'm going to buy a copy of Vista. TurboCache is the only reason I have any interest in it.
     
  9. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    as long as you spec a machine with a real video card, 2+gb of ram, a decent Core 2 Duo cpu and a 7200rpm hard drive, you should have no problems with vista. Areo is the killer when it comes to graphics and will choke with an integrated card, 3gb of ram would be preferred as well.
     
  10. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it possible to switch the GUI back to a Windows-2000 look, or are you pretty much stuck with some version of Vista's bubbly shit?
     
  11. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    it's the same spot as XP to turn off all that stuff.
     
  12. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay. Guess I gotta play with it.

    I tell you what, a Vista VM would be awfully nice, just so I can get a feel for it.
     
  13. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    0
  14. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    turn off sidebar
     
  15. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey, they've got a list of XP services and explanations for each. Thanks!
     
  16. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Are you really that fucking cheap, that you need to buy a $300 copy of vista to put on your old piece of shit? You are the reason people bitch about vista having poor performance. Fucking faggot.
     
  17. Rumbaar

    Rumbaar Inherent Omniscience OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    22,235
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Well it depends on what version of Vista, but yes nLite (vista version) and remove the Media Center portion can cut a massive hole in the Vista footprint. I'll have to find the article that appeared in a local PC magazine that did this exact thing. Make vista as small as possible.
     
  18. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    What in the hell are you talking about? I'm saying I'm actually considering buying Vista along with a brand new laptop, not an old busted one. (I put Kubuntu on my old busted one. :mamoru:)
     
  19. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    You don't need any tweaks to turn off Aero. It's a simple setting.
     
  20. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    overall, they were talking about different settings for better performance in Vista. most don't involve anything like registry hacks if that's what you mean by tweaks. most are simply disabling this, uninstalling that, changing preferences on that type stuff.
     
  21. awns729

    awns729 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Turbocache = 20% startup speed increase, from what I've heard. That was about it.

    Not worth it from everything I've read. Unless you like the desktop effects and taht shit, doesn't sound like you care for it though.
     
  22. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    i would just stick with windows xp sp3, most likely you will be slower with vista
     
  23. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    By the power invested in me by myself as the acting head of IT in my office, I requisitioned a copy of Windows Vista and reserved 100GB on one of my VM servers for it. I'm now playing around with Vista to figure out what exactly I'd need to do to be able to stand using it, justified of course by the fact that the company will eventually have to upgrade to something newer than XP.

    Eventually.
     
  24. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    That's exactly the same boat I'm in, except I decided to dual boot on my laptop. I need to figure out weather I'm ordering 70 new systems with vista or xp next summer.
     
  25. red

    red New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Messages:
    87,095
    Likes Received:
    0
    You could probably load a shell skinning app like Windowblinds if you really cared, but skinning vista to make it look like windows 2k seems just a dumb as skinning windows 2k to make it look like vista.
     

Share This Page