How can I send a wireless signal 2000Feet?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by kmad86, Mar 28, 2008.

  1. kmad86

    kmad86 Swine Epidemic Survival Crew '09 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    15,301
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ft. Smith, AR
    Is this possible for under 200 dollars? I live on 1300 Acers and I am trying to get my grandparents house on wireless(1400-2000 feet away from me). There are very few trees in the way. I was sent to www.cantenna.com but they now sell those at Wal-Mart so I was kinda iffy on the range. Anybody have any suggestions on how this might be possible... if it even is.
     
  2. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would imagine two cantennas could do it. Or two cheap Yagis. This is not hard to do with two directional antennas. The record is hundreds of miles.

    http://www.notebookreview.com/default.asp?newsID=2859

    That guy used one, and not two, and got on his home wifi from 1.2 miles away.
     
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    stop being a pussy. Run fibre.
     
  4. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
  5. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don't fuck with him, he's gonna take you seriously.
     
  6. kmad86

    kmad86 Swine Epidemic Survival Crew '09 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    15,301
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ft. Smith, AR

    Alright, I just bought two Cantennas... Hopefully it will work. Do you guys know if I need some sort of an adapter to connect it to my WRT54G?
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    you can't run cat5e 2000ft. It's max distance is 328ft between repeaters -- and repeaters are gonna fuck with your collision zones and it's not gonna be good. Furthermore, it violates NEC regulations to run low-voltage copper wire between two structures. They would have different ground planes and therefore potential exists on conductive cabling between the two.
     
  8. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    A joined ground would fix that, so long as both buildings are powered from the same transformer.
     
  9. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    violates NEC.
     
  10. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    They can't regulate what they don't know about. And considering the grounds all go into...well, the ground, all a joined ground cable will do is enhance earth conductivity between the two buildings, not establish a new connection that didn't exist before.

    That said, thinking more about the distance, that's a long way to run any kind of cable. I think an infrared laser/focused-LED system might be better for him, but damn if I can remember what they're called.
     
  11. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    You only need one, but two will work well. Whether you need an adaptor depends on the type of connector on your WRT and the Cantenna. Just make sure that the antennas on your WRT DO come off, and you're fine.

    The WRT uses RP-TNC or Reverse polarity TNC. The cantenna uses... Connector: RPSMA, RPTNC.

    You should be fine. Compatible devices listed here: http://wirelessgardenstore.com/detail.aspx?ID=288

    More info on your integration here: http://cantenna.com/linksys.html
     
  12. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think he needs an X-Ray emitter and a surplus medical x-ray device, plus two USB cables.
     
  13. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    usb is serial... i think some ieee1284 would be better because it's parallel.
     
  14. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    That's a different issue.

    That's a very simplistic view from someone that has obviously never worked with networking two structures toegether.

    I will give you two scenarios:

    typical:

    Stray AC current will be present on the cat5e messenger wire which will degrade signal quality/performance.

    extreme:

    both structures have power (obviously). Assuming a neutral/ground failure at one structure, the cat5e messenger would carry substantial current which will cause it to fail and energize the individual pair conductors. Boom. All your nice computer equipment goes bye-bye.
     
  15. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know when I looked into this you had to buy expensive surge cut-outs/regulators to network two independent structures.
     
  16. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    that's why everyone does fiber. It ends up being cheaper, and more future-proof.
     
  17. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, especially with the government re-assigning the wifi range to homeland security. Pretty soon fiber will be the only option.
     
  18. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I didn't hear about that... got a link?

    there is so much that operates in the 2.4GHz spectrum -- such as microwaves, cordless phones, x10, wifi, etc.
     
  19. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, Here

    Its amazing.
     
  20. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    riiiiiiiiiight
     
  21. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its serious. More serious than the copper miners strike effect on the availability of CAT5.
     
  22. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    riiiiiiiiiiight
     
  23. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wait, the whole range or just the older A and B sections?
     
  24. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    A was 5.4GHz and is still used in businesses (less likely for FCC to fuck with them). B is the same range used for G and draft-N.
     
  25. dissonance

    dissonance reset OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    5,652
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    KS
    Yeaaaaa, I can't see this ever happening. The government taking over the entire wifi range that the vast majority of people use. Though it would be a great way to piss off the entire country. I know I want to have to go buy new equipment b/c they wanted what we use.
     

Share This Page