how can I make my room more acoustically sound?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by squid, Aug 4, 2008.

  1. squid

    squid braap

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    4,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    91403
    I think the biggest obstacle to sound in my room is the room itself--at least that's what a local AV expert has said, and I don't see why he'd be lying. It's just a flat cube, with a sectional couch and a stone / wood table in the rear of it. I put a rug in the middle, that helped the center channel sound less crappy. What else can I do (that doesn't involve knocking down walls or anything)?
     
  2. GammaRadiation

    GammaRadiation Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    29,840
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Random Location.FL
    Hang tapestries and what not on the walls. If it has windows hang thick curtains.

    What exactly is the problem? Staging or nodes and anodes?
     
  3. squid

    squid braap

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    4,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    91403
    Everything just sounds harsh, B&Ws shouldn't sound that way. I'm sure some of it is the receiver though (Yamaha).

    I have blackout curtains on the one window, and the door to the bathroom is a slider rather than a swinger.
     
  4. Zeromancer

    Zeromancer Pampita's Love Slave

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    26,887
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Simpsonville, SC
    My Yamaha RX-V1 + B&W DM 604's sound great in my room, but my room isn't the same as yours.

    Make sure the B&W's are far enough away from the walls. You could also put acoustic panels in the corners of your room or behind your towers against the wall.

    Also what do you mean by "harsh"? boomy or muddy bass, unnatural sounding highs, or distorted sound??
     
  5. squid

    squid braap

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    4,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    91403
    well maybe he was full of crap, I moved to optical connections between the units and now everything sounds much clearer and richer
     
  6. phyphoestilic

    phyphoestilic New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IE/Riverside, CA
    maybe u just need some EQing
     
  7. Zeromancer

    Zeromancer Pampita's Love Slave

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    26,887
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Simpsonville, SC
    The only time I use analog is when I play SACD's which require separate analog outputs to go into my Yamaha receiver. Everything else is either optical or hdmi connections.

    What Yamaha receiver and cd/dvd player are you using? Also what B&W speakers are you running?
     
  8. squid

    squid braap

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    4,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    91403
    Yamaha rvx 661
    B&W 684s w/ htm61 center
    Earthquake sub
    Don't know what's in the rear, it came with the house, but they're B&Ws.

    The center still sounds pretty harsh when delivering voices but putting down a rug helped a little bit in the lows.

    I'm a total noob at all this, I'm learning as I go along.
     
  9. GammaRadiation

    GammaRadiation Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    29,840
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Random Location.FL
    Optical? I hate it. Sadly you probably cant send 5 separate channels via RCA.
     
  10. Zeromancer

    Zeromancer Pampita's Love Slave

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    26,887
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Simpsonville, SC
    Nothing wrong with optical if you only need DD5.1, DTS or stereo.
    Now if you want TrueHD & DTS-MA, then you will need HDMI 1.3 or separate analog output channels via RCA
     
  11. squid

    squid braap

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    4,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    91403
    When I ran audio over hdmi it didn't come through in dolby digital according to the receiver so I went optical

    I don't know what truehd or dts-ma are.

    My projector doesn't support video over hdmi though so I can't run everything through that.
     
  12. Zeromancer

    Zeromancer Pampita's Love Slave

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    26,887
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Simpsonville, SC
  13. squid

    squid braap

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    4,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    91403
    Yeah I was just reading those actually.

    I don't know why my receiver didn't display "dolby digital" when using hdmi for an audio connector, but does when using optical. I wonder if it's downscaling something when I use the hdmi for audio only or something weird. I'm using a ps3 and DirecTV as my only sources right now.
     
  14. BlaXXXima

    BlaXXXima OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    7,447
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada

Share This Page