Horribly out of shape, 5'8" 220lbs -- Want to lose 20lbs in 30 days

Discussion in 'Fitness & Nutrition' started by Hym3n, Sep 30, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hym3n

Hym3n New Member

Plain and simple I'm not looking good anymore. I've had weight problems all my life, and I understand that a simple matter of dieting isn't going to make me lose weight as much as a lifestyle change will. I know a lot about all of this, but it'd be nice just to hear it from someone else. Here's my situation:

5'8" male
    220 pounds
    ??% BMI

I'm fat. Really not much muscle, I'm not very strong. My legs are, as I played hockey for 11 years when I was younger, but I'm sure that most of that has gone away and turned to fat as well. I could probably bench 140lbs if I struggled.

My immediate goal is to drop 20 pounds by Oct. 31st. I'm a college student with access to a pretty nice rec. center. I can go five days a week without hesitation. Eating is the hard part, as I live on campus, and food selections are limited. Fortunately, the dorm I live in is the "healthy" dorm, and serves a variety of low-cal/low-fat foods. I strongly dislike fish and vegetables however, and as mentioned, I know that this requires a lifestyle change, but I'm not sure that I'm wanting to accomodate eating foods that taste like crap 90% of the time to drop pounds. All meat is great, chicken probably topping the list, although I'm afraid of man boobs (I have them as it is, want them to go away, and from what I hear, eating chicken won't do anything to help that).

Drink-wise, I've got no problem with mass quantities of water per day. That's what I've had to drink 99.99% of the time since Dec. 31st '06, and won't be a problem for the rest of the year. Its the one resolution that I've always been able to keep.