Hooking mac mini up to HDTV?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Jack Imhoff, Apr 30, 2005.

  1. Jack Imhoff

    Jack Imhoff Guest

    Has anyone hooked their mac mini or any kind of mac for that matter using the DVI port on their HDTV? I am thinking about purchasing a DVI to HDMI cable so I can hook it up to my tv. Would this be wise? My PC looks like crap when hooking it up through s-video on a regular tv. I want to be sure before i drop 50 bucks on a cable.
     
  2. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    my friend did, but he needs to get the service menu commands form mitsubishi so we can adjust the horizontal and vertical scaling for the DVI input as the picture runs off the screen all around. looks damn sweet otherwise (65" mitsu diamond series RPTV).
     
  3. Devoidarex

    Devoidarex Rexversusu v.2.0

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    10,774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pacific South-West
    It looks like crap on a regular TV because the resolution on regular TV's is crap (800V600, I think?).

    Hooked up on an HDTV, it should look just like a regular monitor, but way bigger.
     
  4. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Bingo. The key is that the HDTV must have a DVI input to get the full 1920 x 1200 resolution. S-Video and Composite Video won't cut it.
     
  5. Icedog

    Icedog New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    8,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CO
    DVI to HDMI cable is 50 bucks? hmmmm
     
  6. robwormald

    robwormald New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    33,035
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATX
    i did it into my panasonic HDTV, DVI->HDMI. didn't work, none of the resolutions ever matched up. panasonic TV manual says "note, HDMI port not intended for use with a computer"

    fuck.
     
  7. Spinkick

    Spinkick Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Messages:
    27,976
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MI
    i have a 61" samsung DLP with a DVI connector and a vga one. I'll probably just use the vga port, unless you think the DVI should be used for that instead of for my HD cable box.
     
  8. Jack Imhoff

    Jack Imhoff Guest

  9. Rick

    Rick New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Henderson, NV
    I have hooked both my PowerMac and PowerBook up to my 50" Samsung DLP via DVI. I should have taken pictures. Anyway, the monitor choice even said SAMSUNG DLP in the drop down menu.
     
  10. Spinkick

    Spinkick Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Messages:
    27,976
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MI
  11. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    yeah. 1920 x 1200 is my PC laptop resolution. i got the two mixed up. it's been several weeks since we were playing around with it.
     

Share This Page