Holy Shit! I got a new router and almost doubled the speed of my cable connection

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Up All Night, Nov 18, 2004.

  1. Up All Night

    Up All Night I might sleep all day

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    So i wanted to get a wireless router to use my new laptop and bought a D-link 524(100mbps WAN port) to replace my Linksys BEFSR41(10mbps WAN port). Turns out the WAN port was the bottleneck in my network, as my speed went from about 4.5kbps to a little over 8kbps (over 1MB/s transfer rate)

    I don't exactly understand how this works because my speed is still under 10mbps so it doesn't really make sense for it have increased (or does it?), but i'm happy
     
  2. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    linksys products are crap... what else is there to understand?

    furthermore, a crappy 100Mbps nic will get you about 60mbps of throughput, and a good one will get you 80-90+Mbps...

    but 4.5kbps - 8kbps is NOT 1 MB/s transfer. make up your mind!
     
  4. JordanClarkson

    JordanClarkson OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2002
    Messages:
    59,955
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Go Dodger Blue!
    The speed of your nic probably wasn't matched up properly to the speed of your router. It would've been fine if it were configured correctly.
     
  5. Up All Night

    Up All Night I might sleep all day

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    :mamoru: oops. I meant:

    8822 kbps.
    A 1102.8 KB/sec transfer rate.
     
  6. Up All Night

    Up All Night I might sleep all day

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    How so? The bottleneck was the WAN port for the befsr41
     
  7. Keyzs

    Keyzs OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, MI
    The WAN port on the Linksys can handle much moe than it was putting through. The issue was a misconfiguration (either automatic or manual) someplace along the line. Most likely one port or another was running 10baseT half duplex and resetting the connections reset that port back to 10baseT Full or higher (but it being any higher is not going to help...)
     
  8. plat

    plat New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,209
    Likes Received:
    0
    let me guess, you have a motorola cable modem? :mamoru:
     
  9. Up All Night

    Up All Night I might sleep all day

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    According to the specs here:
    http://www.mtmnet.com/LinkSys_DSL_Firewall.htm

    The WAN port is only capable of operating at 10BaseT
     
  10. Up All Night

    Up All Night I might sleep all day

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    :squint: yeah
     
  11. plat

    plat New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,209
    Likes Received:
    0
    for some reason the Motorola line of cable modems dont like 10bt ports.
     
  12. Keyzs

    Keyzs OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, MI
    So where to you live and who do you get your internet access that is more than 10BaseT? (Yes they do offer it, but its rare...)

    The port I am refering to may not have been the WAN port, you do have at least two other ports between you and the internet that you are obviously ignoring....
     

Share This Page