GUN Hitting up a gun show this weekend, advise?

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Rownan, May 20, 2004.

1. Rownan

Rownan SHIFT

I am heading to a gun show probably Saturday, it'll be my first.

First, I have no experience with handling a gun, heh.. I've held a few, shot a .38 cal revolver once. I've only been really interested in firearms for the past couple months though.

I am looking to pick up a 1911, partial to Springfield, but if I find anything I like and the price is right I'll nab it.... I'm looking for something around the $350 range, so obviously it will be used.

Like I said I am a gun n00b and I'm sure the vendor will realize this the instant I take the gun from his hands. I've done a little bit of research about the specific gun I am looking for so I understand some of what to look for.

My question here is about etiquette. What am I allowed to do when the guy hands me the gun? What should I check? How do I check the trigger pull? How do I check the action... blah blah blah

I'm sure there is a n00b guide somewhere, link me please. My biggest fear is the vendor guy yelling at me for cocking the hammer or something.

2. Y2kAccord

Y2kAccord Everything happens for reasons I just dont know

I am looking to buy a gun for my b-day, there is a gun show 2 days after my b-day, are the prices that much lower than at my local gun shop? I am deciding if I should wait. I am looking and still deciding, I wouldnt mind a Glock23 or XD-40

3. TwoGuns

TwoGuns Medical Crew

If you ask to look at a gun, be very respectful. Once he hands it to you, or gives you the go-ahead to handle it, pick it up carefully, like you normally would handling someone elses's gun. If you're going to shoulder a rifle, or put a pistol into a shooting stance, point the muzzle up and away from anyone. Ask permission to dry-fire the weapon to check the trigger pull. If you're un-sure of what the different buttons and levers do, ask the seller, don't try to figure it all out by yourself.