HEY HOW DOES this sound (car audio set up)

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by adidas1882, Mar 22, 2006.

  1. adidas1882

    adidas1882 do it do it do it

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    stl
    ok i dont have a source unit picked out but
    ...

    Two JL 10w7s
    powered by two JL 500.1s

    now this is something im confused about
    i bought a focal 165k3 in my front doors

    would it be better for me to run a
    JL300.2 for my mids
    a JL300.2 for my 2nd set of mids and a JL300.4 for my tweets and my rear 6.5" fillers?

    or just run two JL300.4's
    so i would basically have 75 watts per channel all the way around?
    (75 to my 1 set of mids 2nd set tweets and rears)

    thanks
     
  2. Ronin

    Ronin Guest

    ive never seen someone seperately amp each speaker and im not exactly sure how thatd work :dunno:

    i would just bridge a 300.4 for the fronts and then 2 channel for the rears

    the cross over should connect to both of the mids, i dont see the difference in just going through the cross over with 2 channels bridged or is it set up differently (ie u need to wire the mid range to the midwoofer? like when ur doing 2 subs to 1 amp.)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 22, 2006
  3. JRock10

    JRock10 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN FTW
    if those speakers are biampable, i would do a 4 ch on the components, and just a 2 ch for rear speakers. or just run a full range 6 ch
     
  4. GSteg

    GSteg Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    0
    How come you need an amp on each mid? That is of course, you're looking for insane power.
     
  5. adidas1882

    adidas1882 do it do it do it

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    stl
    i figure the w7s will slam
    so a front stage to keep up with the amount of bass that will be produced
     
  6. bearsdidit

    bearsdidit OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    32,815
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Huntington Beach,CA
    that would work great... go active ftw
     
  7. Ronin

    Ronin Guest

    :dunno:

    go 4 it
     
  8. JRock10

    JRock10 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN FTW
    or some higher end components are bi-amp thru the xover. my orion P6.2s are.
     
  9. bearsdidit

    bearsdidit OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    32,815
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Huntington Beach,CA
    true, but i'd rather have the ability to adjust the crossover points myself rather then use preset figures.
     
  10. Boosted_AWD_

    Boosted_AWD_ 10,000 Watts RMS

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    11,558
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYCT
    1000/1 is the same output and cheaper than 2 500/1
     
  11. adidas1882

    adidas1882 do it do it do it

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    stl
    i know
    i had a 500.1 on my old set up
    my buddy works at the retailer and swapped it out for a brand new amp
     
  12. ngsm13

    ngsm13 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    2,706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    I'd go with an Active setup, using a HU that is 3-way active capable.

    Also, how much you looking to spend?
     

Share This Page