Hey audiophiles - Suggestions needed

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by BigBlind, Sep 22, 2009.

1. BigBlind

BigBlind There is only one way to become champion; never fu OT Supporter

I'm a college student who wants to get a sort of "starter kit" of sorts, I have no idea what makes a good sound system beside what I read in the FAQ of this forum.

Basically I want to spend $200-300 to play sound on my TV for movies and music from my computer. I live in a dorm so I don't need anything big, and I'm not looking to make a huge investment right now, but I wouldn't mind having something I could build off of.

I was looking at this guy:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16882290015

But one of my friends thought it might be hard to connect it to my TV (I'd have to buy a receiver or something).

Basically I know almost nothing about speakers/home audio and I recognize that, so I've come here for advice, if this is way too broad/stupid then sorry.

2. BoomBoomBoy

BoomBoomBoy Guest

The speaker you listed won't work for your application. You need to buy something that is powered (have a built in amplifier).

I myself prefer 2.1 sound over 5.1 Something like this fits in your budget and I'm sure you'd be happy. I have a similar set-up on my flatscreen/computer in my office.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16836121122

3. BigBlind

It's funny you mentioned this, one of my friends suggested the exact same thing after I asked him what he thought.

Thanks

4. Eggnog

Eggnog New Member

I think you might be satisfied with the Logitechs, however saying "Audiophile", you might want to consider a more hi-fi setup, such as an entry-level pair of studio monitors.
    Here are some nice M-Audio ones
    http://www.amazon.com/M-Audio-Studiophile-AV-Powered-Speakers/dp/B000MUXJCO/
    or you could go with the fanboy favorite, the Audioengine A2's.
    http://www.audioengineusa.com/a2_home.php