MIL Hey AF guys, talk to me

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by mrduke, Nov 20, 2008.

1. mrduke

mrduke OT Supporter

This might be long winded, but here goes. I've been in the Navy for a little over 4 years, still on my first enlistment, and it's time for me to decide where to go with my career. I'm an E-5 and an electrician on Super Hornets, I do like my job and am pretty good at it but I really don't like the ship, ironic I know (1.5 years of sea time in your first enlistment might do this). So I recently visited Nellis AFB and after talking to a bunch of guys out here and observing how you guys conduct business, I'm thinking that the AF might be a better path to take for me. I know you guys are more specialized when it comes to maintenance but I can ask the recruiter about all that when I go talk to him, I just wanted to get some input from anyone who could help on how easy it is to do inter-service transfers like this and any details on the process. I know some of you have transferred branches so I'm hoping I can get some help. Sorry for the long post but you were warned :bigthumb:

2. tunes

tunes OT Supporter

gl and :h5: if you switch

3. Figori

Figori Taking BRC to the EXTREME. OT Supporter

I'm not currently aware of the AF's likelihood of taking prior service. That might bite you in the rear. But good luck if you do. Been in almost 3 years, and I have no regrets. :)

4. jjski78

jjski78 New Member

LOL. Chances are you're not gonna get taken because the AF is right where they want to be with manpower.

Why I'm laughing...I was actually looking into getting out of the AF and going Navy as a Sub Nuke.

5. mrduke

mrduke OT Supporter

That's a hell of a switch, are you doing it for the civilian opportunities when you get out?

6. Burrito10

Burrito10 New Member

Call the Pentagon and tell them you two want to switch, kinda like trading teams! They're not losing anyone from the rooster, ya know? :mamoru:

7. Hahawhat?

Hahawhat? New Member