hey admins. what's your gateway?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by AbortionSurvivor, Apr 14, 2010.

  1. AbortionSurvivor

    AbortionSurvivor Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    3,016
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nor. Cal
    I'm not talking about gateway to the internet that is assigned by ISP.
    But rather if you create a vlan what IP address do you choose to be your routing gateway or default GW for the vlan?

    At our place we use the last x.x.x.253 IP address in each subnet.
    I've always wondered why the company chooses .253 and not .254 or .1 or whatever.

    Is there a rule i'm missing on choosing gateway IP addresses?
     
  2. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    I use 1 at home, and 254 at work. There's no rule.
     
  3. TomDlgns

    TomDlgns OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    60,938
    Likes Received:
    329
    .

    at home, i use the default of the router, which is .1
     
  4. deXTuX

    deXTuX New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,310
    Likes Received:
    0
    At work with all our vlans we use .1 for everything. I think it's a matter of preference with setting up the different vlans
     
  5. Vito_Corleone

    Vito_Corleone New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    29,356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    We use .1 which is an HSRP/VRRP group address
     
  6. retorq

    retorq What up bitch??

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mohave Desert
    We use .1, .9, and .250 depending on which subnet we're talking about.

    Each Department used to have it's own network and when IT took it all over we kept what they had before and built our new stuff work work with theirs.
     
  7. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
  8. Maffy29

    Maffy29 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    7,799
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    I believe ours are .1 as well. I haven't looked lately.
     
  9. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Probably they use different numbers at work just to make it harder to guess, which is important if you have a gateway/router that you can log into and configure through a web interface, which is pretty common these days.
     
  10. chips

    chips ...

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3,755
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    .1-10
     
  11. BlazinBlazer Guy

    BlazinBlazer Guy Witness to The De-Evolution of Mankind.

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    18,783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lansing, MI USA
    I don't have a Gateway.... I have a Dell



    :mamoru: :fawk:



    I usually stick with .254
     
  12. TomDlgns

    TomDlgns OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    60,938
    Likes Received:
    329
    ummmm ipconfig/all gives you the gateway so there would be no need to guess. and then there is this thing called a user name and password.

    :ugh:
     
  13. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Now you see why I blast Deus when he starts to talk nonesense?
     
  14. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    + you can configure the port for web access etc

    i use 7070 instead of the default 80 or 8080
     
  15. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    :rofl:
     
  16. retorq

    retorq What up bitch??

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mohave Desert
    They have this new feature where you can control access to certain IPs on certain interfaces now. :rofl:
     
  17. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, then what's your explanation why isn't it always .1? That's what they all come set to by default, so people are obviously changing them for some reason or another. Just because there are better types of security doesn't mean that security through obscurity is totally bunk.

    Yes, ipconfig /all will show you the gateway you're using, but at that point you're already in the building and plugged into the LAN, so if you're persona non grata they've got more immediate problems to worry about.
     
  18. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Well, I can tell you why WE did it. .1 was the WAN interface that the ISP gave us - if we wanted our own router to traffic internet, we needed another number. We chose 254.

    Not at all - most high end routers don't come with anything set defaulted. In this particular case, you choose what's available, and it simply makes sense to choose something at the extreme spectrum. As for ones in the middle, if you create different subnets within your LAN, that would explain the ones in the middle.

    In this case, it is. Because...

    The only reason you would need the LAN gateway IP is if you're on the LAN already. Meaning if you were to "attack" from outside of the network, the LAN gateway address is meaningless and trivial.

    Do the smart thing this time and just back off this one.
     
  19. FormulaLS1

    FormulaLS1 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    0
    And anyone with a port scanner can find it anyways.

    Changing your gateway for obscurity does absolutely nothing...

    The reason most people flip LAN gateways from .1 to .254 is prior network experience where someone else did it. There is no benefit to having it flipped.

    I have seen scenarios where customers have a hosted VoIP system and use DHCP reservations to make the phone default GW .2 and set the client PCs out .1 if they have a dedicated T1 for voice. In a situation like that I assume the vendor wants control of their router and phone traffic while letting the IT staff handle client PC traffic.
     
  20. TomDlgns

    TomDlgns OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    60,938
    Likes Received:
    329
    because it doesn't have to be .1 it can be anything. .1 by default makes sense. it is the first number.
     
  21. TomDlgns

    TomDlgns OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    60,938
    Likes Received:
    329
    .
     
  22. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    my gateway at work is .129, but thats the first address of the subnet - so its another vote for .1 from whoever set that up too.
     

Share This Page