WEB herro. i'd like to launch a site, but i have no clue wtf i'm doing. a total noob.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Gary Busey, Aug 11, 2007.

1. Gary Busey

Gary Busey Guest

basically, i've been kicking around an idea for over two years, of launching a legal news site tailored to my local area. i'm not a fan of the existing services in the area and think i can do a better job, we can report on matters quicker and with better writing, etc.

content-wise, we're ready to go. i've got a couple of writers ready to work and we have the necessary contacts to get a nice flow of news stories going immediately.

technical-wise, i'm totally lost. i'm not an IT person and my undergrad had nothing to do with the internets :noes:

here's what i know so far
    1. i need to get a domain name. from who, someone w/ a good price, i dunno where to start.
    2. i need to find hosting. what qualifies as a good price/package, i dunno.
    3. i need to decide on advertising to be put on the site. whether i should go with adsense or something else that pays better, i have no clue.
    4. i'll need merchant services, as our subscribers will be purchasing news stories, abstracts and subscriptions from our site with credit cards. i have no idea how this works or if its too technical or time consuming for me to do personally.

the way i envision it working is, someone comes to our site and purchases a subscription to our newsletters w/ a credit card. if they want to purchase premium articles/abstracts, they'll have to purchase those individually via credit card.

any help is appreciated :hs: if i can do this all myself, wonderful. if not, suggestions on who/what to hire would be appreciated.

2. drpepper

drpepper Active Member

your first step is a domain. namcheap.com or godaddy.com is where you need to go. now, for a content management system. try using joomla or drupal.

forget about ads until you get some steady traffic going. goodluck.

3. auveeb

auveeb DATS CUTE