Help!

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by jordan04, Jul 23, 2006.

  1. jordan04

    jordan04 The seeds of love have taken hold, and if we won't

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Messages:
    1,168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    md
    I'm trying to connect my g3 iMac (panther 10.3.9) to my pc using direct ethernet between the two. Apple says they should just automatically recognize each other but they won't. When I try to ping the pc's ip it won't work. All I want to do is send over the music and photos. Anyone know what the problem is?
     
  2. CarRamRod

    CarRamRod The schnozzberries taste like schnozzberries.

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Wouldn't you need a crossover cable?
     
  3. jordan04

    jordan04 The seeds of love have taken hold, and if we won't

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Messages:
    1,168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    md
    I didn't think so because Macs can automatically change the connection or something. Even Apple's switch thing says all you need is a regular cable.
     
  4. skelm

    skelm New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    Try a crossover - if it doesn't work pop back in here :p
     
  5. Pitt

    Pitt 1-1-11 — Never Forget OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    150,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Injured Reserve
    find the ip of your pc
    then on your mac be in finder
    Go > Connect to server
    then type in smb://[ip number here]/C
    then click connect
     
  6. jordan04

    jordan04 The seeds of love have taken hold, and if we won't

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Messages:
    1,168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    md
    Will this work even if they won't ping each other?
     

Share This Page