Help with Windows error codes

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Hops, Apr 17, 2007.

  1. Hops

    Hops OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,543
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    Sierra Foothills, CA
    My brother's computer continuously restarts just before the desktop loads, including starting in safe mode. Running the recovery console off the install disk leads to the blue screen and forces a reboot, rinse, repeat. Is there any way to salvage files from his HD before a full reformat? Or is everything pretty much lost?

    The code it shows is 0x0000000A (0xFFBE0000, 0x00000002, 0x00000000, 0x807D49E8)

    Windows XP pro
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2007
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    that means a bad device driver, usually. Stick the drive in another machine (or a usb enclosure is better) and copy the important files off of it. Then format and install windows.

    did you add hardware or update a driver, recently?
     
  3. Hops

    Hops OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,543
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    Sierra Foothills, CA
    Didn't update drivers or add anything.

    If I stick it in my comp as a slave drive his windows installation won't interfere with mine? Sorry, i'm pretty stupid when it comes the this kind of thing :)
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    it shouldn't, no. But that's also why I love USB enclosures.... you hot-plug it after you're all booted.
     
  5. Hops

    Hops OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,543
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    Sierra Foothills, CA
    Ok well we got it in my comp and can access most files. However...he was having problems before, and a reformat was planned...so he dragged all the stuff he wanted to transfer over the network to his desktop. We can't seem to access the desktop folder on his HD, it just says access denied. Is there some other place to get the files, or a way to get into that folder?
     
  6. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    take ownership of the directory - google it.
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    ^^^ take ownership and set permissions properly.
     
  8. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm gonna say the Registry is hosed and the computer is choking on some malformed data therein.
     

Share This Page