Help with two hard drivers running two OS's

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by GotVtec, Apr 5, 2004.

  1. GotVtec

    GotVtec 8th World Wonder

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I have a computer that runs two hard drives, one is Windows 2000 and the other is Windows XP. I mainly use the XP for all of my daily needs, however, I need to use the 2000 side for a few thing during the day. The Windows 2000 side has some software that will only work on that side.

    Is there a way I can be on the XP side and run the 2000 side? Sort of like VirtualWindows on a MAC?
     
  2. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    In other words run both OS's at the same time?
    No, not unless you have one it 2 different PC cases, then you could use a KVM switch to switch between them.

    Using something like VirtualPC (that is what you meant) runs a virtual OS through a disk image that is on your harddrive. It doesn't access a real OS that's on another drive or partition
     
  3. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    i believe you can set that up though vmware.

    i tossed in a hdd, setup up vmware, installed gentoo though vmware. once completed, rebooted, and booted into my gentoo enviroment.

    i see no reason why it couldnt work the other way around... though u may have to run fixmbr on it to resetup your mbr.
     
  4. Ximian

    Ximian New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Messages:
    1,860
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    DCA
    VMWare, it'll work.
     
  5. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Yep, VMWare. I have it here (running NT on a Linux host). It works but it's slow, not to mention expensive if you pay for it.
     

Share This Page