SRS help with talking to an interviewer

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by enexgee, May 9, 2005.

1. enexgee

enexgee New Member

Oct 15, 2004

i graduated from a music/recording school in 2002 and moved to atlanta for work. I got a really good internship (unpaid) at one of the nicest and busiest recording studios in town. i mean, i worked for outkast, ludacris, the nappy roots, and the indigo girls while i was there. so 6 months down the road i was still pretty much at intern status, not being paid... which didnt help my drive to work very hard at this studio. so i quit after 8 months of working there. i was pretty sad for a while and blamed myself for blowing such a good oppurtunity, i know it was my fault, i just couldnt click with any of the people there and get in where i fit in.

i quickly got a job working for a company, good salary, outstanding benefits and just working with all around cool people, all aquantinces prior to getting the job.

just recently i have been feeling pretty lost in what i want to do with my life and really desperately wanting to get a job doing what i went to school for and what i love. i saw a job posting for a paid studio position and applied for it. i just got an email back today to do a phone interview tomorrow.

i'm sort of nervous about the phone interview. I'm not very good at interviewing with people. dont get me wrong.. i know my stuff and am certain i am the one for the job. Just right now, i have a very good secure job with excellent pay for my age (32k/year) that will be far greater than anything i'll be getting paid working at a studio, along with guaranteed hours.

what i'm worried about is how i'm going to negotiate and communicate to the studio manager that i REALLY want this job, and i'm the right person for it.