Help with new HD install

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by kilabeez0, Jun 4, 2006.

1. kilabeez0

kilabeez0 New Member

My PC was built in 2002/03 and has a 40 gig WD hd. My IDE cable only has a black master and grey slave plug harness, with the black obviously plugged into the WD. The jumper was set to CS.

I installed Seagates Diskwizard to help with my install of the new hd since I've never done this before. Anyway I plugged the new 120 gig Seagate into the slave harness and put the jumper also on CS since my IDE only has the 2 connects. I spent a couple hours or so copying 20 gigs from my original hd to my new one since that is what Diskwizard asked to do when I booted up windows. It then gave me specific instructions to move the jumper on the old WD from master to slave.....well it was never on master it was on CS....regardless I moved it to slave, I then moved the new Seagate to Master from CS because it told me too....actually it said move from slave to master, but like I said I had both on CS.

Well I tried all configurations and I still cant get it to boot from my new hd. I left it with the black harness plugged into the WD and the slave grey on the new SG. I also have both jumpers back on CS because my computer wont boot any other way.

My computer recognizes the new drive and it shows the 20 gigs of memory I had transfered. I dont know why I transfered that stuff, I thought that's how I could get windows to load from setting the new hd as the boot up drive. Am I wrong assuming this? This is all new to me so please help me out.

2. P07r0457

P07r0457 New Member

Okay, ignore diskwizard... it's bad.

Completely DISCONNECT the WD hard drive. Leave the Seagate as master. Format it and install windows from scratch. Install all drivers. Then re-attach the WD drive and copy your data to the seagate drive.

profit.

3. kilabeez0

kilabeez0 New Member