Help with new build...keeps locking up

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by HorseDick, Oct 11, 2005.

  1. HorseDick

    HorseDick Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    4,586
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    FL
    I built my first PC yesterday....specs are as follows:
    MSI M8N Neo4 mobo
    Athlon 64 3500+
    1x1gb PC3200 PQI Turbo
    200gb Seagate Barracuda UATA/100
    eVGA 6600GT PCI-E 128mb
    DVD burner
    etc


    Everything is working good except for the fact that every minute or two, it freezes for a few seconds and the monitor resets, then everything is normal again. Any idea what could cause this? I tried lowering the refresh rate from 85 to 60hz, with no luck. It just did this crap 4 times in the matter of time it took me to post this.
     
  2. JaJae

    JaJae New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    What are your system temps (CPU, ambient, Motherboard, Southbridge, graphics card what psu are you using?
     
  3. HorseDick

    HorseDick Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    4,586
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    FL
  4. HorseDick

    HorseDick Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    4,586
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    FL
    450w power supply which was included w/the Xion case.
     
  5. HorseDick

    HorseDick Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    4,586
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    FL
  6. Yoshiemaster

    Yoshiemaster New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    did u install the drivers for the video card?
     
  7. HorseDick

    HorseDick Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    4,586
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    FL
    Set it so the monitor is always on, tried different video card drivers, updated BIOS, video cable is fine.....ran MemTest for over 4 hours (passed 9 or 10 times) with no errors. Took the card out and made sure everything looked OK.....now I'm just fucking confused.
     
  8. HorseDick

    HorseDick Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    4,586
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    FL
    I think it may be processor-related. Any time I'm installing a program, or anything else that puts a strain on the processor, the monitor keeps resetting 10-12 times in a row.....

    It wasn't doing this last night :confused:
     
  9. HorseDick

    HorseDick Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    4,586
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    FL
    Also it's WinXP Pro....someone please helpppp :( :(
     
  10. Yoshiemaster

    Yoshiemaster New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    i really don't know what to say
     
  11. HorseDick

    HorseDick Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    4,586
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    FL
    That seems to be the case with just about everyone. :(
     
  12. Under_Fire

    Under_Fire Duck and Run

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    3,383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The good life
    does the mobo have onboard video? if it does yank out the vid card and see if it still does it. If it doesnt then return the card (hopefully you got it from newegg, they are good about that stuff). good luck
     
  13. HorseDick

    HorseDick Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    4,586
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    FL
    No onboard video.
     
  14. Under_Fire

    Under_Fire Duck and Run

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    3,383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The good life
    no other vid card? if not then :idk:
     
  15. HorseDick

    HorseDick Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    4,586
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    FL
    [​IMG]
    the spikes are where it froze / monitor reset

    [​IMG]
    thats with normal usage where it went to 100 without freezing
     

Share This Page