Help With my computer v. Videocard,powersupply

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by hungraa, Jun 27, 2007.

  1. hungraa

    hungraa New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    0
    K so i recently bought a EVGA e-GeForce 8800 GTS

    when i plugged it in everything seemed fine until after maybe a few minutes my monitor just goes blank.

    i currently am using a 450W power supply and i am also giving my video card extra power by using the Supplemental Power Adapter. its like two power cords that i can connect from power supply to video card for extra power.

    right now im using my old video card and everything seems fine.


    Does the fact that my monitor receive that "no signal" sign after a few minutes mean that i need a better powersupply? or does my mobo need upgrading. i have a DFI INFINITY Nforce SLI.

    THanks guys :hsd:
     
  2. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    wtf is Supplemental Power Adapter? What brand is the power supply? IF it is just some cheap 450W PSU, that might be the problem.
     
  3. A Cow

    A Cow OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Messages:
    33,025
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Vancouver BC
    you need AT LEAST 500watts should be 550 for a 8800
     
  4. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    no, my GFs system is a E6400 @3GHz, Asus P5B-D, 2GB ram, 8800 GTS 640mb, 2HDs, all off a 480W enermax. As long as it is a good power supply i bet it would ever run on a 350W :eek3:
     
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    yea I have more powerful systems running on 350/400W Sparkles.

    Granted if you're using something like an Antec you need one rated very high just to get some decent power out of it (because the specs are over-rated).

    However, when using a GOOD power supply -- such as a Sparkle -- they generally put out their rated output if not more. In addition, the output is CLEAN. This promotes system stability and longevity.
     
  6. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    A lot of psu's are tested at 20C. That's barely even room temperature.
    At running temps, they aren't going to be able to maintain rated power.

    You want to find one that's tested at 50C or better.

    Antec checks the True Power Trios and the Earthwatts at 50C.

    And of course, Fortron, the better Enermax ones, Seasonic, Sparkle, iStar...
     
  7. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Save yourself the frustration of having to pick through all the mumble jumble that everyone says in here.

    This site is one of the very best there is for power supplies.
    http://www.jonnyguru.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1460

    On that page, is the guy's recommendations for psu's under $150.

    You will notice several Antecs in there. Nuff said.
     
  8. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    All of the 8800GTS say the same thing
    The amperage on the +12V rail(s) is the real key.
     
  9. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I have bench tested True Powers and most are piles of shit. Don't even attempt to say they're 50C stable -- they're not even stable at room-temp.
     
  10. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Have you looked at the testing that that guy does on psu's?

    I'll trust that kind of benchtesting anyday.
     
  11. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    when a kid comes in crying because his gaming rig that he spent 3 years saving up for can't run a fucking game without crashing, and then I can throw in a cheap $30 350W Sparkle and it works fine (and his $150 Antec doesn't) what do you want me to tell him?

    Antec fucking blows.
     
  12. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
  13. hungraa

    hungraa New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    0
    alright guys so i found out my Power Supply but i dont know the exact one


    its an Antec and the amps on the +12 rails are only 15A and 17A

    and i just got bluescreened recently trying to play a Half Life Mod
    however i also recently upgraded my processor and heatsink but i dont think that is the case.

    dang i think i do need a new power supply

    this is the video card i ordered
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814130071
     
  14. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    yea, that antec, although rated at 15a/17a will put out signifigantly less. Not a good unit.

    I recommend upgrading.
     
  15. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio

    To clarify what I was saying here, I meant the only reviewers who can be trusted are the ones who do the testing that Johnny Guru does, or better.

    "Better" being the 100k testers like PC Power & Cooling uses.
     
  16. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Um. The Supplemental Power Adaptor is the extra power socket on the video card that hooks up to the PSU. PCI-Express cards have them, as do PCI-Express chips with AGP converters.
     
  17. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Dell uses 375W (+12V rail = 30A) PSUs on their XPS410 pcs with 8800GTS cards
     
  18. hungraa

    hungraa New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    0
    so should i use the adapter?


    also what power supply should i get? or atleast with what specifications?
     
  19. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    In the manual of my XFX 8800GTS, it says that it does NOT recommend to use the 4-pin to 6-pin power cable converters.

    You need a PSU that has at least 1 PCI-Express (6-Pin) power port. 2 PCI-Express power ports for 8800GTX or SLI config.
     
  20. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    it is safe to use if it is from a discrete 12V rail.
     
  21. hungraa

    hungraa New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok im just gona get this
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16817194003

    also how do u know what "pin" it is? sorry im noob:wtc:
     
  22. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
  23. hungraa

    hungraa New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks man i appretiate it but i think i just screwed up comp up even more.

    i screwed in my vid card in more just a few minutes ago because it was kinda sloping down and now when i turn on my comp the mobo makes an extremely high screeching noise and there is nothing on the monitor

    if i replace the 8800 with my older 7600gs it runs fine again.

    did i just screw up my vid card or is it just lacking a better power supply.
     

Share This Page