WEB Help with FTP Client

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by skee lo, Aug 18, 2008.

1. skee lo

skee lo Guest

I'm just getting started with web development and am having some problems figuring out my FTP client. I'm using FileZilla Client.

Basically, I can't get the program to connect to the host. In fact, I'm not ever certain what the host is. Is the host the company that I registered the domain with (godaddy.com), or is it the domain itself? What should I enter in the "host" box?

I tried entering godaddy.com as the host and it connects, but keeps timing out:

Status: Connection established, waiting for welcome message...
    Error: Connection timed out
    Error: Could not connect to server

I tried the network configuration wizard but that didn't work either. What should I do?

2. Oh Its Joe

Oh Its Joe OT Supporter

Godaddy does offer hosting but all you did was buy a domain. You will need hosting. I would go else where for hosting. I tend to stay away from big names like 1and1 and godaddy because you only appear to be a customer number where as the smaller businesses it is much more initimate.

Once you find a hosting company that offers FTP (most do) you will just input the server (usually the domain name) and the username and password for the ftp.

3. DnA02

DnA02 Hey, how YOU doin?! OT Supporter

you need to get the IP of your website. Usually your hosting company will include your website IP in their welcome email that is sent to you when you first create an account with them.

After that you need the username and password of the FTP account, usually in the email as well.

oh yeah, buying a domain is not the same as buying hosting.

you need to buy a domain AND have hosting in order to get the FTP. Just buying a domain will not allow you to have FTP.

I dont know how much knowledge you have about the subject so just typing out whatever I think will help you.

4. skee lo

skee lo Guest