Help with Front USB Ports

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by IceMurder, Jul 9, 2003.

  1. IceMurder

    IceMurder Guest

    Just built a new computer the other day and im wondering, where do i hook up the front USB cords?? I would post pics but i have no idea how. Please help!


    Thanks.
     
  2. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    they should plug right into your mother board. It'll say where to plug them in in the manual
     
  3. IceMurder

    IceMurder Guest

    Can someone please tell me how to post pictures, i think i know where to hook it up but i want to be sure, i have a picsture of the cables and the place i think it goes. I read the manual but its not very helpful.

    Thanks.
     
  4. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    you can upload the pic to otupload.com I think.

    after just use the [​IMG]
     
  5. IceMurder

    IceMurder Guest

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Sorry i dont know how to resize
     
  6. Slimmy

    Slimmy Get Richt or Die Trying

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    135,671
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale
    Yea, plug em in there, just make sure you do it correctly.
     
  7. IceMurder

    IceMurder Guest

    Correctly as in...the USB cord with the 1s on it on top right...
     
  8. IceMurder

    IceMurder Guest

    Oh, and i dont know if u cans see it in the pics but the top place on the motherboard only has 4 pins and the bottom has 5, the USB cables also have 5...is that right or is a pin missing?
     
  9. IceMurder

    IceMurder Guest

    Anyone?
     
  10. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    ur case wont work for front usb.

    they are already pre-set, and if ur mobo is setup differently, u cant use them (unless u break the case, yadda yadda yadda).
     
  11. IceMurder

    IceMurder Guest

    My case has front USB slots...it should be set up for front usb shouldnt it? Those cords come from the front USB...
     
  12. Fantik

    Fantik Guest

    yeah, but your motherboard isn't set up for it.
     
  13. IceMurder

    IceMurder Guest

    damn, ok thanks everyone
     
  14. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Huh? Why do you guys think he can't use it? USB connections on MBs are arranged in a 5/4 pin groups. I can't see what connection is but if that's where the manual says they are, that's them.
     
  15. JimboJones

    JimboJones Guest

    I agree with 5gen_prelude.
    The 5 pin - 4 pin conifguation is real standard on mobos, and his front USB ports should be fine plugged in there. There should be a couple of the case wires that are labeled as ground. One of those will be on the extra fifth pin. The other one doesn't need to be connected to anything. Essentially, you will have four pins connected on one of them and five pins on the other, but they should both work.
     
  16. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    USB is Power, Data -, Data +, GND in that order. The fifth pin isn't used except for keying I believe. My case came with 8 wires (2 USB ports) and 8 connectors (not joined like yours) and the MB told you which pins did what. It would appear on yours that the 5th pin is used for ground by your case, but I don't know what the wiring for the MB is since I don't know which board it is.
     
  17. IceMurder

    IceMurder Guest

    Ok, on the cord coming from the fron USB on the plug it says:

    Shield 1
    GND 1
    Data +1
    Data -1
    VCC 1

    and the same for the second plug except with 2's instead of 1's
     
  18. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    And the Motherboard manual says what?
     
  19. IceMurder

    IceMurder Guest

    1

    VCC
    Data0-
    Data0+
    GND
    KEY

    2

    VCC
    Data1-
    Data1+
    GND
    Over Current
     
  20. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    You're okay - plug em in - match up the pins of course.
     

Share This Page