Help with formatting

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by stevomack, Apr 13, 2008.

  1. stevomack

    stevomack Big Shot Bob ftmfw

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Stockton, CA
    So i have 2 physical drives, but 3 logical drives one is a 30 gig SATA with windows installed, that I run windows on. The other is a 230 gig split into 200 and 30 with windows installed on the 30 gig partition, i formatted the 200 partition fine, but when i go to format the 30 gig it tells me that the format cant be done, and when I use the windows installer formatter, it tells me that there are important files on that drive, but I dont need any of them because im running windows off the 30 gig SATA, so how can i format the drive when it tells me i cant?


    sorry for the long paragraph.
     
  2. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    so what exactly is it you want to format and what do you want to keep?
     
  3. stevomack

    stevomack Big Shot Bob ftmfw

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Stockton, CA
    i want to format the 30 gig partition so eventually i can unparition the drive so it is only one drive. But with Windows installed on it, it wont let me
     
  4. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    are you in windows trying to right click on the drive and saying format?
     
  5. stevomack

    stevomack Big Shot Bob ftmfw

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Stockton, CA
    yea lol. but ive also tried to start up the windows installer and use that formatter, and it said that the drive had important files on it.
     
  6. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    well, of course its going to tell you that, it knows that you are trying to remove a windows installation
     
  7. stevomack

    stevomack Big Shot Bob ftmfw

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Stockton, CA
    well yeah but I mean i have it installed on a different drive, so i dont need it...
     
  8. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    if you dont need what is on the drive, delete the partitions and format it
     

Share This Page