WEB Help with Family web site.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by negative zero, May 27, 2008.

1. negative zero

negative zero New Member

This might be difficult to answer but I appreciate any input.

I am trying to putting up a site that will mainly host pics/videos of my kids. I am working on a header (not sure of the exact terminology) that will have both kids pictures in it with some kind of background. I have no idea what background. Suggestions?

I photoshopped the two pictures and cut out their background but when I save it as .gif (the only way I know to get rid of the white background) the image sucks. I guess it makes it 256 colors :dunno: So this is more of a photoshop question but how can I make the backgorund tranparent?

Any otehr ideas or sample pics of just a main heading on the top of the main page?? Any do's/don'ts?

thanks for any help. :wavey:

2. ROFLCORE

ROFLCORE Guest

jpg doesn't support transparency, gifs do. The problem is that gifs are better for solid colors and not textures or gradients. png has transparency but depending on the file it may be quite large and certain versions of internet explorer won't support the transparency of pngs and you have to create a work around in your code to have it display properly.

3. thomor25

thomor25 I make money online....

4. negative zero

negative zero New Member

Thanks for the info. I tried .png and it took one photo from 11.xMB to 3.xMB. I still have to shrink it down quite a bit so that may work. thanks.

Any suggestions on background?

5. Insert Tokens

Insert Tokens Making Cancer My Bitch OT Supporter

You're better off building a solid header as a JPG unless you REALLY need it seperate.. as a GIF will never look as good as a JPG if it's photos of your kids.

As for the background image itself, it depends on the photos..

6. negative zero

negative zero New Member