Help with componet cable-Everything is Red

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Hondamts, Jul 12, 2006.

  1. Hondamts

    Hondamts Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2000
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The West
    So basically I am using componet cable to connect my dvd and lcd. I have double checked the componet cable at least 3 times. Basically when I tune into the DVD input the whole screen is red...bloody red! Do you think i have defective cable...or dvd player...LCD has worked in the past

    Thanks:noes:
     
  2. Hondamts

    Hondamts Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2000
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The West
    is S video better or it's one of those it depends on who u ask...
     
  3. veonake

    veonake OnT poster, OT lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    Are you sure you are plugging your cable into the component connections of your LCD and DVD player and not accidentally into the composite connection on either device?

    What happens when try mixing the colors on the cable up? For instance, use the red connectors for the green signal, green for red, and blue for blue like before. If you get only green, your cable is bad. If it stays the same no matter the configuration of the cable, then either your DVD or LCD is hooked up wrong or has something wrong with it.

    As far as S-Video, component is better. The debate is largely between DVI/HDMI vs. component.
     
  4. blykins

    blykins New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    5,739
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Zeti Reticula Star System in the Orion Constellati
    That happened to me. Go into your settings for your DVD player and change it to progressive. If its on interlaced and you use component you will get the crazy blood red screen of death.
     
  5. amill94

    amill94 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    31,272
    Likes Received:
    368
    I'm guessing this is a toshiba, or a samsung dvd player. If it is, you need to do what this guy says. Go to menu and select video settings. Then change from s-video or composite to component. Also select progressive scan.
     
  6. blykins

    blykins New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    5,739
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Zeti Reticula Star System in the Orion Constellati
    \

    yep i had a samsung
     
  7. Hondamts

    Hondamts Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2000
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The West
    it worked...THANKS...:wiggle:
     

Share This Page