Help with Car system

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by scarecrow, Mar 26, 2004.

1. scarecrow

scarecrow Guest

I am pretty new to the car systems, I am currently having problems with my car..... with my system on very low, my head lights dim alot and it feels as if my car is about to stall (from a lack of power). I have a civic and I dont have much room to put an optima battery in place of the HONDA battery and/or if I could just re-locate a yellow/red top to the trunck? I just bought an alternator for my car and am also looking to get a 1 farad cap. Also, with the caps... is there a better company to go with caps?? I was looking at a rockford cap and I have been seeing alot of the Stinger ones around.

*any info would be VERY helpful

Thanks,
    Marcus

Last edited by a moderator: Mar 26, 2004
  2. Danno

Danno Bronx Poodle OT Supporter

A cap isn't going to solve your problem. From what I've read a cap will only make it worse...might cure some of the dimming but will still put a damper on your electrical system.

3. 04

04 Guest

You added a new alternator and are STILL having problems? I would double check your battery, it could be bad, causing excessive loading on the electrical system (thats not to say you need an optima though).

Like dadadams said, you don't really need a cap unless you are using it to fix a diming headlights problem.

Also check your wiring as well, and make sure everything is hooked up correctly.

4. Mycophiles

Mycophiles OT Supporter