A&P Help with AfterEffects

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by Guld, Jul 30, 2009.

  1. Guld

    Guld 昇龍拳

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10,770
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Does anyone here use Adobe AfterEffects at all? I'm having a problem render text out in final projects. It always looks way too grainy when I render, but it looks fine while I'm working on it in AE. Anyone know what's up with this?

    First shot is from inside AE, the next is from the final rendered project.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Wobistdu

    Wobistdu Guest

    1st shot looks like the beginning of a movie :bigthumb:
     
  3. Guld

    Guld 昇龍拳

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10,770
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Well, it is. It's a concert video I shot, but the grainy title texts just ruin it. I took three hours to render out and 3 seconds of grainy title text ruined it. :wtc:
     
  4. GlobeGuy

    GlobeGuy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,974
    Likes Received:
    0
    For text as simple as that, why not just use the tools in your video editing software?
     
  5. Guld

    Guld 昇龍拳

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10,770
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I am. That's the problem. It looks perfect inside the editor, but when I save it and go to watch the final result, it looks like ass. It just seems to be the blue text too.
     
  6. Guld

    Guld 昇龍拳

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10,770
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Switching the blue to white fixes the problem. I liked the look of that blue though... :mad:
     
  7. AbortionSurvivor

    AbortionSurvivor Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    3,016
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nor. Cal
    maybe it's my monitor, but both pics look the same?
    Only the top left in the first picture looks more defined.

    Can some give me a clue?
     
  8. Keiphus

    Keiphus my dog eats bears

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    6,138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you check your output settings? They are set to Best/Full? What are you outputting to? Quicktime? What codecs?

    Are you rendering the text as alphas to put on top or are you rendering that entire shot w/ video underneath?

    I might be able to give you a hand. I user AE day in and day out.
     
  9. Guld

    Guld 昇龍拳

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10,770
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I have the output settings at full and best. I'm using the H.264 codec and it's out putting as an mp4. Also, I'm viewing it in Quicktime. As for rendering as alpha, I'm not sure. I have the text on a layer (not in a composition or anything) on top of the video with the rasterize sun thing clicked (though I can't seem to unclick it even if I wanted to). I thought most fonts were vector based so I'm not sure why it's giving me a hard time.

    Thanks for your response.
     
  10. Guld

    Guld 昇龍拳

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10,770
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Are you viewing on a CRT monitor?
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2009
  11. nikocb

    nikocb New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Reading PA
    I don't know much about AE...but could you do the text in Pshop, then save it as a graphic and throw it in to AE?
     
  12. Guld

    Guld 昇龍拳

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10,770
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Bump.
     
  13. idmcore

    idmcore New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KCMO
    OK, i have no real experience with AE, but i'd guess that since the white is rendering fine and the blue is not, it's not a final output settings issue.

    (I'm imagining the setup is very similar to Photoshop where you can make one text block that is a whole object and highlight text within that and recolor it as you would like)
    So - Is the blue text the same object as the white? Just a different color?
    If it is not a separate object, that's really screwy. try a different font? maybe that will change something?

    Go differential diagnostics on this bitch. I like how it looks and it'd be a shame for you to have to change it due to a rendering issue.
     
  14. TurkeyChicken

    TurkeyChicken New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    42,913
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    I haven't used it in a long ass time, but make sure your text is rendering at like 300dpi or something and not just 72
     
  15. Guld

    Guld 昇龍拳

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10,770
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    It works pretty much the same in PS. You use the text tool to make an area for text and then type. It's all the same object and the only difference is the colour. I'm not sure a different font would help and I didn't really find another font that had the same feel as that one so I really don't want to have to change it.
     
  16. Guld

    Guld 昇龍拳

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10,770
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Where would I change that? I haven't really seen any options that let me tweak the text dpi.
     
  17. Guld

    Guld 昇龍拳

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10,770
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Well, I got impatient and just rendered it and uploaded it to youtube. Looks like the youtube compression just makes it all look like shit anyway.

    Link if anyone wants to see it:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qQdLVsZVYP8&fmt=18

    I guess this brings up another question. How do I upload video and have it not look like shit? The originals look MUCH better than that. I guess A&P doesn't have a lot of people working with video. :wtc:
     
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2009
  18. Snoopy007

    Snoopy007 #´・ω・)っ且~ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    69,947
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Heart of Asia
    http://www.google.com/support/youtube/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=132460
     
  19. sony

    sony Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    112,721
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    I'm guessing it is compression :dunno: what bitrate are you encoding at?
     
  20. sony

    sony Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    112,721
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Here are my export settings for youtube (HD)

    H.264
    1280x720, 29.97 fps, Porgressive, Square Pixels, VBR, 1 Pass with 5Mbps target, 6Mbps maximum
    AAC audio 192kbps 44.1kHz Stereo
     
  21. Guld

    Guld 昇龍拳

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10,770
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  22. Guld

    Guld 昇龍拳

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10,770
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Mine:

    H.264
    640x480, 30fps, Progressive, Square Pixels, VBR 1 Pass with 6Mbps target, 10Mbps Max.
    AAC audio 320kbps 44.1kHz Stereo
     
  23. sony

    sony Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    112,721
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
  24. Guld

    Guld 昇龍拳

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10,770
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Here are two quick renders (~8mb each):

    Blue Text

    White Text

    Everything is the same about them except for the blue text. These were both rendered at 640x480, 30fps, VBR 1 pass, H.264. It's just the text with the colour. I've even tried converting the text to a shape and it's still giving me a hard time. I'm happy with the overall quality of the renders except for the blue text. I doubt it's a pixel aspect ratio because everything else is fine.
     
  25. bitchno3

    bitchno3 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,441
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    78701
    what is the anti-aliasing setting that you are using for the text
     

Share This Page