Help with a HP Ze5170 (bios pw wtf?)

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Alchemist, Jul 28, 2004.

  1. Alchemist

    Alchemist Your Neighborhood Supplier

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,715
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Santa Monica, CA
    i was wondering if any of the computer ppl here could help me out, i m having big time HD failure on my laptop (hp pavilion 5170) and i have to unlock the bios, which i never pw protected in the first place. now i have to fax all this info and its prolly gonna take at least a week. google only provided passwords to desktops as far as i could find. any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    might want to check with your friends if you have any computer savvy friends who might have done that as a prank. the bios is not normally password protected from the factory.
     
  3. Alchemist

    Alchemist Your Neighborhood Supplier

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,715
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Santa Monica, CA
    thanks for the advice, the problem is no one has really touched this computer besides me, and i always kept it running well , reformatting when needed, and doing normal maintenance. the hd took a shit on me out of no where yesterday and now circutycity wont' fix it even though i have a 3 year waranty till the I take care of that. i don't think any of my friends would/could do this bc I know a bit more than most of them and typically they come to me with cpu questions. thanks for your help.
     
  4. Alchemist

    Alchemist Your Neighborhood Supplier

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,715
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Santa Monica, CA
    oh btw i was reading online and i figured out i need a "backdoor password". i was hoping someone here could help me out. :hs: thanks.
     
  5. spankaveli

    spankaveli OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    16,466
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    LA. State, not City.
    should be able to remove the cmos battery (watch looking battery on the motherboard) and leave it out for a few minutes then pop it back in

    youll have to reset the time and date in the bios but it should remove the p/w
     
  6. Alchemist

    Alchemist Your Neighborhood Supplier

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,715
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Santa Monica, CA
    thanks for your help i ll try that out when i get back home
     

Share This Page