Help with 2000 server, msdtc.exe

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Playboy, Feb 18, 2003.

  1. Playboy

    Playboy Part time arrogant bastard

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2000
    Messages:
    35,751
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    This error must've occurred over the three day weekend.

    Anyways, the Distributed Transaction Coordinator process seems to be hogging up all CPU time at 97-99%.

    I cannot force quit, I cannot browse my network connections, both on ethernet and http.

    I cannot do installs, and my clients cannot access the necessary programs that it usually does.

    This is a first encounter, so if anyone can be of service;

    I've been racking my brain for 2 hours now.
     
  2. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    So what is this server's prime roll? Is it clustered? SQL server? Web Server?
     
  3. Playboy

    Playboy Part time arrogant bastard

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2000
    Messages:
    35,751
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    it's a web server. or actually to be more specific, an application server, nothing more.


    this process has not been started in the past, why now?

    i cannot disable it or let alone do other things since it interferes with EVERYTHING, even startup and shutdown.
     
  4. Astro

    Astro Code Monkey

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2000
    Messages:
    2,047
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    This sounds really familiar but its not clicking at the moment (I've ODed on chaos in my life so I'm not thinking clearly at the moment).

    Have you rebooted the machine yet? After rebooting, check the processes and see if it fires up again. Are you running virus software? Do you have the latest patches. I'm kind of leaning towards something worm based, but don't quote me on it...
     
  5. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Mmmm - well most worms peak out the TX portion of your connection so find out how much traffic is being sent out of the box (LAN connection properties), see if it's crazy output. If so, do a netstat -an from the comand prompt to find out where the traffic is going. I think we can agree that no service should ever peak out your processor for any real length of time.
     
  6. Astro

    Astro Code Monkey

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2000
    Messages:
    2,047
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    Maybe I want to change my answer, but not until these questions are answered:

    - Has any new applications been installed on this box?

    - Is there any developers executing code on this box?

    My theory is if there's an infinite loop in someones code. But I do believe that locks up a different DLL and not the one you described. But I toss it out for food for thought...
     
  7. Playboy

    Playboy Part time arrogant bastard

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2000
    Messages:
    35,751
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    The most I can do is disable the service. Renaming the file works also, but upon reboot, it creates itself another .exe file.

    The lastest applications that I can see that was installed were:

    UD Devices: Statistical Survey Screensaver
    McAfee professional AV (trial): expired

    I can't even monitor the network, let alone look at what's going on. The properties are all jacked up. :(
     
  8. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    You cant go into the LAN Connection properties? Perhaps you have more problems than just this one service. If you disable the service, does the computer behave properly?
     
  9. Playboy

    Playboy Part time arrogant bastard

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2000
    Messages:
    35,751
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Well here's an update:

    I just let it restart itself. If the system hangs, so be it. Well after a very long ~9 minutes of shutting down and restarting, it started up normally, with all the apps running fine.

    I could do everything normally and msdtc was nowhere to be found. Naturally I went into Services and disabled it, but I'm scared to restart since it's acting fine now :(

    BTW, I went on to add NAV CorpEd just for a safety measure. McAffee sux0rz.
     

Share This Page