Help! Windows Vista Updates F'd my laptop

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Chris87, Jun 9, 2009.

  1. Chris87

    Chris87 flatoutperformance.com

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    12,200
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Ok so actually its a friends laptop... HP Laptop with Vista.

    2 days ago she went to shut the computer off, and there was windows updates ready to install, she got them to install then restart the computer. All 3 updates successfully installed and then when the computer restarted, this box comes up....

    When you go to start up the computer, a box comes up saying "Startup repair" and "Startup repair is checking your system for problems.... If problems are found, Startup repair will fix them automatically. Your computer might restart several times during this process.
    No changes will be made to your personal files or information. This might take several minutes.
    Attempting repairs.... And has a little progress bar that goes left to right, left to right over and over.
    Repairing disk errors. This might take over an hr to complete." And you can hit "Cancel", but it won't allow you to actually cancel.


    And then after a a little while and up to few cycles of rebooting, a "Finished" comes up and says.....

    "Restart your computer to complete the repairs.

    To restart immediately, click Finish.
    If repairs were successful, Windows will start correctly.
    If repairs were not successful, Startup Repair might run again to continue fixing your computer." And then gives you the option to "Finish", "Cancel", or
    "Click here for diagnostic and repair details", and when you click that, the following comes up....

    "startup repair diagnoses and repair log
    Numer of repair attempts: 1

    Session details
    -------------------
    System disk = \Device\Harddisk0
    Windows directory = C:\Windows
    Autochk Run = 0
    Number of root cause = 1

    Test Performed:
    ------------------
    Name: Check for updates
    Result: Completed successfully. Error code = 0x0
    Time taken = 0 ms

    Test Performed:
    ------------------
    Name: System disk test
    Result: Completed successfully. Error code = 0x0
    Time taken = 0 ms

    Test Performed:
    ------------------
    Name: Disk failure diagnosis
    Result: Completed successfully. Error code = 0x0
    Time taken = 109 ms

    Test Performed:
    ------------------
    Name: Target OS test
    Result: Completed successfully. Error code = 0x0
    Time taken = 125 ms

    Test Performed:
    ------------------
    Name: Volume content check
    Result: Completed successfully. Error code = 0x0
    Time taken = 453 ms

    Root cause found:
    -------------------
    System volume on disk is corrupt.

    Repair action: File system repair (chkdsk)
    Result: Completed successfully. Error code = 0x0
    Time taken = 388785 ms

    ------------------------------
    ------------------------------

    If you hit finish, it'll just keep doing the same cycle over and over again, if you hit Cancel a new box comes up saying "Are you sure you want to exit startup repair and restart your computer?" and it doesn't matter if you hit cancel or finish, the same thing happens and the cycle starts over again....

    I have no idea what is wrong or what to do to fix. I have noticed that once it reboots I can go into the menu, so I'm guessing I should try to reboot in safe mode? But then what do I do? Please help! :hs:
     
  2. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Did the machine come with restore discs or a restore partition? I'd probably backup the personal data and do a restore on it.
     
  3. Chris87

    Chris87 flatoutperformance.com

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    12,200
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    After still running some more cycles, this other test comes up in the results... Don't know if I missed it the first time or if its new...

    Test Performed:
    ------------------
    Name: Disk metadata test
    Result: Completed successfully. Error code = 0x0
    Time taken = 62 ms
     
  4. Chris87

    Chris87 flatoutperformance.com

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    12,200
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    I found that at startup, I can hit F11 for a system recovery, but how do we back up the computer before we do a system recovery???

    ...And yeah - of course she's an idiot and has ZERO backup of ANYTHING :uh: If we can somehow just go in (in safemode??) and copy some of her files and school stuff and pics, etc, we'll just do a system recovery then, right?
     
  5. Chris87

    Chris87 flatoutperformance.com

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    12,200
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    So I just went into F10 right when the computer restarted up into SETUP and in diagnostics did a memory test which came up as "#100000- Result: Passed - restart the system"
    and a "Primary hard disc self test" which came up with a "test status #10008- Replace hard disc".... which i'm guessing can't be good? :o
     
  6. OniMinion

    OniMinion ...recalls when this forum was actually about cars OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,894
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Indiana/Minnesota
    If you can, I doubt safemode with bypass that screen. Did you by any chance physically move the laptop while it was updating? Does the HD make any strange, unfamiliar noises?
     
  7. Chris87

    Chris87 flatoutperformance.com

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    12,200
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    HD isn't making any funny noises and she didn't move it at all while updating. :confusing:

    Startup has the options for:
    ESC to enable startup message
    F1 to enter system information
    F9 to change boot device order
    F2 to startup check
    F10 to enter setup
    F11 to system recovery

    Where do I go to start in safemode? I can get there via F9 or F10, but it only gets me to the boot order. I haven't been able to find any kind of safe mode yet :confused:
     
  8. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    F5 = safe mode
     
  9. OniMinion

    OniMinion ...recalls when this forum was actually about cars OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,894
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Indiana/Minnesota
    You have to press F5 or F8, right after post (I forget which every time, and just press them both repeatedly).

    If it doesn't give you the option, try booting from disk!
     
  10. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    You need to hit F8 when Windows starts to load to get to safe mode.

    I have plenty of computer parts and machines laying around, so I'd put the laptop drive in an external enclosure and copy the data to another machine.

    If you don't have a means of doing it that way, search on google for a Linux or Windows Live CD. You should be able to boot off one of those and burn what you want to keep to a DVD.
     
  11. Chris87

    Chris87 flatoutperformance.com

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    12,200
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Ok, so this whole safe mode thing isn't working so well. Once I hit F5 i've got 2 options:

    "Choose an operating system to start, or press TAB to select a tool:
    (use the arrow keys to highlight your choice, then press ENTER.)
    1) Microsoft Windows Vista (When I choose this, it just starts to run the same repair cycle again)
    To specify an advanced option for this choice, press F8 (I did this once and it just started running the same repair cycle)
    Tools:
    2) Windows Memory Diagnostic Tool" (Which I ran 1st and it ran 2 tests and said everything is good with both tests)

    WTF???? The only thing that remotely resembles a safemode is inside F10, but all that did was wanted me to choose the order in which drives were booted (ie usb, dvd, hard drive).
     
  12. Chris87

    Chris87 flatoutperformance.com

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    12,200
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Ok i'll try F8... Give me a few minutes.. Everytime I choose something and it doesn't work, I have to wait for the startup repair cycle to complete again before I can do anything.. Takes about 5-10 min.
     
  13. Chris87

    Chris87 flatoutperformance.com

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    12,200
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    F8 ain't working. I've tried numerious times. :mad:
     
  14. OniMinion

    OniMinion ...recalls when this forum was actually about cars OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,894
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Indiana/Minnesota
    F5?
     
  15. Chris87

    Chris87 flatoutperformance.com

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    12,200
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    See post #11
     
  16. Chris87

    Chris87 flatoutperformance.com

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    12,200
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    So When I get a chance here I'm going to try and create a boot disc. If that doesn't work, then my next course of action will be to pull the hard drive and try to transfer the files onto another computer.

    Fuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu.
     
  17. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    F8 = startup menu, then select safe mode
    F5 = direct to safe mode

    nothing works?
    guess you're stuck in startup repair mode

    yeah,... just boot from setup disc/live cd/bootable USB stick then copy the files
     
  18. OniMinion

    OniMinion ...recalls when this forum was actually about cars OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,894
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Indiana/Minnesota
    OH yeah, that is why I always just pressed both.
     
  19. Chris87

    Chris87 flatoutperformance.com

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    12,200
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    I made a boot disc and then she just ended up taking it to a local computer place for $185. :ugh:
     
  20. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    That's fine. Let people be idiots for not backing their shit up, not knowing what they are doing, and asking someone who doesn't know what they are doing.
     
  21. Foot Soldier

    Foot Soldier New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    What is Texas?


    computer places are such rip offs, anywho, my vista updated recently and had 14 updates, but everything is working fine, maybe she did move the computer or the update opened up some file that dont like her :hs:


    all in all everything you did and was said to do is what i would have done, sometimes, SOMETIMES E.R.D recovery works wonders :ugh2:
     

Share This Page