Help? v. PS, Gimp, X11

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Pseudonym, Oct 16, 2006.

  1. Pseudonym

    Pseudonym --

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    i need some help with getting a stable photo editing program. i am currently running photoshop cs on my MB with 512 ram. i know i need to upgrade ram at some point but i'll leave that for now. So the problem is that PS is running so slow. I can only find a version that is PowerPC, and assume that is why it is running slow. I heard around that gimp was an okay alternative, so i download, and launch. It says that i need to instal X11. so i find it on the net, download, and install. I try to launch Gimp again and i get the same problem.

    So i have a couple questions. a) is there a version of photoshop for intel? b) how do i get X11 running so i can use Gimp?
     
  2. Colonel Panic

    Colonel Panic New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,032
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. Pseudonym

    Pseudonym --

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    any other suggestions? i do plan on upgradeing to 1 gig, but that won't be until maybe christmas
     
  4. samm

    samm Next in Line

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2000
    Messages:
    2,630
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
  5. Corporate Whore

    Corporate Whore New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    the gimp documentation says intel based macs should not download X11 off apples website, instead install it from the os x cd's, i had the ame problem at first as well
     
  6. Corporate Whore

    Corporate Whore New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    also if anyone knows how to keep the toolbar and layers windows etc on top when you click off of them i would appreciate knowing, every time i click on the image all my toolbars are forced to the background
     
  7. Pseudonym

    Pseudonym --

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    so i got it to work. i found the X11 downloader in the optional install packager on the cd when i SCROLLED DOWN! :uh: working fine now. it's not the real PS, but it gets most of the jobs done... and doesn't bog down my comp.

    Thanks
     
  8. Tvan

    Tvan New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    9,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    yea for some reason X11 is a bitch to install until you realize that it's right on the CD's that they gave you.
     
  9. TheManLouisianaFace

    TheManLouisianaFace and decide!

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    32,995
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page