Help! v.AdvancedC++

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Virt, May 6, 2007.

1. Virt

Virt OT Supporter

Alright, I've been doing C/C++ development for over 5 years now. I've been feelin pretty good about my l33t skillz. Then I went on several interviews, phone screens, and placement exams and have been getting CREAMED. Humbling as it was, I turn to OT for help. Can anyone point me towards an advanced or comprehensive C++ tutoring website? Preferable with online quizzes and such. Also, Start throwing random C++ questions in here to try to stump me. I'll give you a :cookie: if you do. Focuses on Virtual and static functions, polymorphism, data object pros and cons, inheritance, as hard as you can make it. Thanks!

2. skinjob

skinjob Active Member

Take a look at a book called "Effective C++" by Scott Meyers. Has a lot of good tips and do's and dont's type of info regarding intermediate to advanced C++ topics. There is a book called "Exceptional C++" by Herb Sutter for even more advanced topics as well as follow-ups to both books: "More Effective C++" and "More Exceptional C++."

3. samm

samm Next in Line

1. explain the purpose of virtual inheritance and how it solves the 'dreaded diamond' problem

4. Virt

Virt OT Supporter

Is this a commonly asked question? I seem to run into this one alot.

Diamond problem:

class A

class B : public A;

class C: public A;

class D: public A, public B

By this setup, class D would inherit members class A through class B AND class C. Any function call to methods inherited from class A from class D would be ambiguous, and you'd get a compilation error. Virtual inheritance (put the virtual keyword in front of the public keyword in the definitions of class B and class C) solves this by making sure the system only creates one instance of inherited members of class A when creating objects of class D.