*HELP* TV surround sound not working -$ involved

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by happyrobots, Dec 17, 2005.

1. happyrobots

happyrobots Ü

Yes, I'll paypal someone money (15 or 20) if you can help me out.
    Rear of the TV:
    [​IMG]

Here's the receiver:
    [​IMG]

And the cable box:
    [​IMG]

Yes I know not all my crap is the best, but I dont care. Help me connect this all together and work!
    I can get DVD surround sound, but not while watching any cable channels.
    The receiver sources are: DBS, VCR, DVD, am/fm as well.

Make connection instructions easy to unstand, i'm a noob at this pretty much.

2. GlocksRock

GlocksRock Glock > You

how do you have it hooked up right now, and with what type of cables going from what to what?

Run your S-video straight from the cable box to the TV and I don't see a optical digital audio out on the cable box, only digital coaxial which your receiver doesn't seem to have, so you will have to use the regular red/white stereo RCA cables, run them out from your cable box audio out, to right under the s-video cable on the tv. If what you show for the back of the receiver are the only input/outputs, then I wouldn't use it. Or you can run it like I said and have another set of red/white RCA jacks going from the audio out on the tv into the Audio In (VCR) on your receiver, and select VCR on the receiver when you are watching tv, this will give you your audio through the receiver and still let you use just the tv speakers if you wish. If no other device in your system uses S-video, then don't bother running the video through the receiver, there is no benefit, unless your receiver does upconversion from composite video, and s-video to component, but I highly doubt that it does that. Since your dvd surround sound is working fine, leave it alone. If you don't wish to use your tv speakers ever, then you can just run the RCA's straight from the cable box to the receiver.