Help troubleshooting browsing problem

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by tenplanescrashing, Mar 7, 2006.

  1. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    My aunt's computer will not allow her to open Safari or Internet Explorer. A browser window will open then the baloon ball will just start spinning. It will do this for about a minute then Safari will close itself and do the "Safari unexpectedly close...blah blah blah".

    I was going to try installing Firefox but im not sure if that would help. I deleted Safari's preference file; nothing. Now im out of suggestions. What do you think?
     
  2. robwormald

    robwormald New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    33,035
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATX
  3. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am going to try the installer to see if reinstalling Safari will fix it, but this is also a problem for Internet Explorer.
     
  4. Teufel

    Teufel New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
  5. colosodian

    colosodian Next Gen

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SF Bay
    Sounds like some file that both browsers use is corrupted or innacessable.
     
  6. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. ahead

    ahead New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Socal
    try repairing permissions in disk utility, thats always a quick and easy first step.
     
  8. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    already did permissions...found ALOT to fix, but didn't do anything for this problem.
     

Share This Page