help sportbike newb

Discussion in 'OT Driven' started by theronald, Feb 28, 2009.

1. theronald

theronald New Member

i want to get my first sportbike but have never drivin one and have no idea what i can handle. i used to own a harley sportster a few years back and thats my only streetbike. i like the yamaha r1. is that to much bike to start out on? i dont want to get into something i cant handle. is the power like uncontrolable? thanks.

2. Matt550

Matt550 New Member

Im a newb also. Been riding for 1 year. I started on a yamaha 600. There is no way I would touch a liter bike. I have no business on one.

I would say its not a good idea to start on a bike that big.

3. Raider007

Raider007 om nom nom nom

too much bike

4. Wobistdu

Wobistdu Guest

i really hate when people say "too much bike" or "start on a 250-600cc."

seriously, a person with common sense can start on a zx14 or hayabusa.

my first bike was a kx80 dirtbike and my first road bike was an 1100cc yamaha that was my dads that i learned to ride when i was 15. both of those were deadly fast, but i learned to be responsible.

5. Junkie

Junkie re-tarded OT Supporter

Even a 600 is a lot of bike to start on, putting down 110+hp at the wheel off the showroom floor. I guess a few retards will suggest literbikes, but I would recommend a 600 at most.

6. swedishstar

swedishstar Active Member

I don't think you can say you learned to be responsible on that bike. You came into the situation with an understanding of responsibility. Of course, everything is a case by case scenario...

If one is not responsible and do not understand action/reaction (consequences), one should not even be on a middle weight.

I see where you're coming from though. The 1000's are a little more linear than the 600's, which in my opinion makes them easier to ride in day to day traffic.

7. Wobistdu

Wobistdu Guest